Chinese Opera and other Knitting Projects

Chinese Opera!

I started a new project this week.  I rather like it.  Which is really not surprising as it has a high “bling” factor.

Last week we got this new metallic yarn – Palila by Austermann; 400m of metallic and sequins.  I had been wanting to see it in action.  Take Palila in gold with rainbow sequins and add red Kid-Silk by Drops and you have a Chinese Opera!  That was one persons’ name for it – I was thinking Bordello, but Opera has a little more class!

I am knitting a simple triangular shawl.  Starting at the back of the neck and knitting until I run out of yarn.  It is very pretty and very soft, which surprised me – I thought that the sequins might add a harder edge to the mohair.  It is knit on 6mm needles and is knitting up very fast.  I started in Wednesday morning and I am already 13 in deep and about 28 in across the top of the triangle.

Sari Ribbon

I have also started to play with the Sari Ribbon.  It is made from Mill ends from Sari production.  It looks like a great ball of ribbons.  Each end to sewn to the next and it is quite interesting to play with.  I started with a 10mm needle and I have decided on a 15mm needle.  This will also knit up very quickly!!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, knitting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

