A Little Whinging for Breakfast and a Minor Temper Tantrum!

Whinge – to whine or complain!  Not seriously, but a little maybe, jealousy, on my part.  My daughter has a copy of the Vogue Knitting with my pattern in it.  She called yesterday to tell me all about it!

Really I am thrilled – it is out there!  How exciting!  But I want to see it!  (Visualize a long wail here)!

It has been a great few days!  The magazine has been released and that is very exciting.  A friend, Lynette Domeney, sent me a book that I had been looking for – Cornish Guernseys and Knit-frocks.  It goes along with my Modern Guernsey project.

And last week I received another gift, a gift and a responsibility.   Most knitters around here know about my fascination with beads and bead knitting and one, Kim Cowlie-Adams, a local Saori weaver, decided to share with me.  She knew that I would be fascinated by and would look after the bag that had been in her family for many years.  She was right.

The Napier Hemy Beaded Bag

This is an absolutely incredible beaded bag.  It is circular with a brass hinge and chain.  The bag was constructed using short-row wedges and there about 24 beads per inch of knitting.  The beads still sparkle after all the years it has been around.  I think that it is well over 100 years old.  It will require some research, but I have some names to track down to see if I can fill it the story that goes with it!

The bag is showing its age.  The silk lining is mostly gone and there are beads missing and holes in the bag, but this makes it all the more incredible.  What has it seen?  What parties did it attend?  History is all around these small bits of knitting that survive time and use!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Awards, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Whinging for Breakfast and a Minor Temper Tantrum!

  1. Lynette,
    What a wonderful historic piece!
    Martina

    • It is absolutely incredible! It will be my summer project to do some research on the family. My daughter has worked in the Royal British Columbia Museum and will construct a special box to stabilize and preserve it properly!
      Lynette

  2. tammy says:

    The Early Fall issue is out here and your contribution is so beautiful! Somehow it’s even more beautiful to see it on the printed page than as a photo on a computer screen.

    Gorgeous work! You are an amazing artist! 🙂

    • Hi Tammy!

      You’ve seen it! I am still waiting – I guess that it now needs to cross the “Big Water”!
      Thank-you for the comments and the friendship! Your support has been much apprecialted!
      Talk to you soon!

      Lynette

Leave a Reply

