Singing Birds and Dancing Dragonflys

Before the thunder, the clouds are starting to gather over the mountains in the distance.

It is raining now, thunder and lightning, and heavy rain – but it has been a wonderful weekend.  Yesterday was warm and sunny, with a light breeze – just perfect.

We walked around Lost Lake Lagoon yesterday morning.  I tried to capture a picture of the dragonflies dancing over the water.  There were many, wings showing double as they moved so quickly to skim the Dragonflies across the surface of the water.

A very blurry dragonfly zooming over the lilies.

I did not succeed, just a few blurred images of incredible motion in flight.

I did capture a picture of a couple of dragonflies at rest, poised and ready to move at a moments notice, and move they did!  They were the incredible blue that dragonflies can be, brilliant, iridescent and constantly shifting shades, mercurial – like their wings in motion.

 

Poised for flight.

 

Shoreline of Lost Lake.

The lake was beautiful, reflecting the sky and the growth around it.  Waterlilies, Iris plants and Rushes choke the shoreline and the trees rise right above them.  I do love that walk.

My blueberries!

The blueberries that are growing on the bushes that I just planted this Spring, are turning colour.  I will get a small harvest, not bad for their first year.

Treasures on the shoreline – I wonder if there was a pearl inside.

Today we went to Neck Point.  It was the Bathtub Race this morning.  There were more people in the park than normal, many sitting and waiting to see the tubs speed by.  I got a few pictures, but I did not hang around long enough for them to get very close.

It was day for the birds at Neck Point.

Woodpeckers posed for their pictue at rest and at work.

I got pictures of the Chickadee’s, Robin’s and a couple of Woodpeckers.  They were all singing and posing for me or at least that is what it felt like.  Usually I just see them whiz on by out of the corner of my eye.

It was also a day to check out a few of the paths we do not normally take.

A path seldom taken took me to new sites.

There are many paths around Neck Point, we usually cruise around the perimeter of the park, today we did venture into a couple of new paths as we worked our way around the park – I took many photo’s of the paths not taken.

A poignant marker of great memories.

I founds a wonderful marker, placed by some friends to mark a favorite spot of someone they had known;  a swing hidden under the trees and many flowers that I had not seen before.

I love the Thistle – it always reminds of my Grandmother who collected anything with a Thistle or White Heather on it.

The Himalayan blackberry is in full bloom and the berries are forming quickly, if the weather remains the same, hot and then rain, hot and then rain – there will be a fabulous harvest this year!

Yesterdays Dragonflies inspired me last night to start the fingerless, beaded mitten for the Fall workshop.  I am calling them Dragonfly Mittens – they are blue with blue iridescent beads.  The yarn, deep blue Princess by Classic Elite, and the beads were chosen before I saw the Dragonflies but it just seemed perfect.

Dragonfly Mttens.

I have finished the Roses, Roses Scarf – It just needs to be blocked.  I’ll most likely block it tomorrow morning.  I am playing around with the idea of adding some dimensional beaded Roses to the scarf.  We’ll see.

Thunder is rolling across the skies as I write this.  Sophie is not sure that she cares for thunder much.  She woke up and came out of her crate as if to say who is making all of that noise.  I have always loved the sound of Thunder, the flash of Lightning and the great cracking and roiling of sound that comes after – especially when safe inside!

I hope that you are safe inside, knitting up a storm and listening to the birds sing after the rain.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Execution, KAL - Edging the PInk, knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Singing Birds and Dancing Dragonflys

  1. Hello, hope all is well. I love thunder too, but we hardly get it in this part of Chile. At the moment we are desperate for some rain. The past seven years we have had little winter rain and so far this winter we have had none. It may really effect the local agriculture this summer if we don’t get some rain soon.

    My girls are on winter break so I have been enjoying staying warm in the house with them. I love you fingerless mitts, beautiful. I have been weaving mitts with my usual chunky style. 🙂

    Hope Sophie doesn’t get too scared!

    Cita

Leave a Reply

