Hot Stuff!

Sunlight dappling the water at Millstream.

It is soooo hot!  So how is it?!

Hot enough that today’s laundrey was started at 6:30 am;  Hot enough that supper is already cooked – chicken, potato salad and green salad;  Hot enough that we walked Sophie very early in the day.

Spiders art – gleaming rainbows in the sunshine.

We went looking for a very cool place and ended up wandering around Millstream Park, keeping mostly in the shade and close to the water for Sophie.

Sophie spent most of her time jumping in and out of the water, chewing on the occasional leaf as it floated by.

It was the lowest that I have ever seen the stream – my husband informed me that he has seen it lower.  The water trickled gently between the exposed rocks for most of the time.

Sophie loves to play in the water, and in this heat she drinks a lot as well.

The brightness of the sun and the heat of the day created some wonderful contrasts between shade and sun, water and land and the clarity of the light was incredible.  I got quite a few shots of water and reflections that I was quite satisfied with.

Cool, calm, blue reflections in the water.

The plans for this afternoon include only quiet activities, watching the Olympics while knitting;  posting this blog (which would be easier if the computer had saved my first attempt instead of losing it!) and later on – quite a bit later – taking some pictures for patterns.

Seed pod from a Thistle! So delicate, but every line visible in the clear light.

Tammy – the daughter of a friend – is going to be a model for me.  We will take the pictures under the trees at Woodstream Park, at the bottom of the hill.  I hope that it will be cool enough under the trees that it won’t be too bad wearing wool around her neck!

Wide Bead Knit bracelet with glass bead closure,

The first sample for the Bead Knit bracelet or choker is finished.  I finished each end with single crochet and some beaded crochet chain for the button loops.

Bead Knit button – maybe a different project!

I tried to create a button with knitting and beads, using a coverable button form for the shaping.  I was not happy with the results, I liked the finish of the large beads better.  I think that button making will require, smaller needles and fibre and smaller beads for the kind of result that I want.  Beaded bobbles just weren’t firm enough – so buttons and beads will have to do for now!

Start of the Bead Knit Choker

Another Beading option.

I have been working on several samples for different bead colour and patterns.  It is always good to see options.  With the red/black/white choker I am also trying a different needle size to see if that improves the way the beads look when the piece is finished.

With this heat it is better just to knit small projects, no hot pile of fibre in the lap to cause heat stroke!

I hope that you find a cool place to spend your day!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in beads, Design - Creation, knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

