An Ode To Murphy!

A very innovative sample swatch – getting wrapped for steaming.

Murphy Oil Soap – that is!

My mother used this cleaner for all of her wood and I have it in my house for all of my wood.  Who knew that it could be a life saver as well!

Thursday morning I was mixing some new colours for the painting class that day.  I had just poured in the boiling water to dissolve the dyes and was stirring each solution – Country Green was the last colour to be stirred and as I was stirring the dye solution the mason jar cracked!

Wrapped and rolled for steaming

Suddenly the dark green, hot, strong, undiluted dye was pooling on the towel on the countertop, running down the white fronts of my cupboards and drawers and pooling on the floor.  As it ran down the cupboards and drawers a small amount was entering the drawers and pooling on every flat surface of each drawer top and cupboard edge.

I thought that I had just ruined my counter top and cupboard fronts – I didn’t think that the dye would come off!!!!!

Dye pots safely caged! Note to sefl – Mix dyes in future on cookie sheet!

I yelled for my husband to get more towels and paper towels and grabbed the nearest cleanser from the cupboard.  It happened to be the Murphy Oil Soap.

I started to soak up the dyes and spray with the Soap and pray;  the dye came of the floor, the dye came off the cupboards and drawers; the dye came out of the drawers;  and by the end of the day – with some serious soaking – the dye had disappeared from the counter-top.  My prayers had been answered by Murphy!

Both my husband and myself feel that we can see a haze of green on one spot on the counter top but no one else can.  In fact, when I asked a friend to identify the spot, she picked a completely different counter!  Murphy has just gone to the top of my cleaning list.  Thank-you Murphy!

Sleeves in progress

Sorry no pictures – I was too busy cleaning! And panicking!

Things Do Happen In Threes

As I was talking to Emily after the dye disaster and telling her of my adventures she commented that I had either gotten the Mulligan out of my system or had just set the tone of the day.  I think that she jinxed me!

A great day for painting – not too hot!

It was great weather for the painting, not to hot and sunny, and no rain, there had been a 30% chance of rain.  I was a little late with the set-up, but everything was going smoothly.

Suddenly there was this great Crash! Lindsay had just had her board tip, three jars of dye were on the bricks.  Miracle of miracles only one broke – it was the Cranberry – so it even matched the colour of the brick!

Eileen’s Tourmaline Shawl

We all laughed and talked about happenstance and symbols and went back to painting.  The rest of the class was uneventful, right up until the clean-up – Crash!  The bowl of nuts on the dye table hit the bricks, there were nuts and bowl everywhere.  It was the last crash of the day and satisfied the “things come in three’s”!  I know it is just superstition, but something started such superstitions!

Grace is using the “natural” as one of her colours!

As a painting day – it was a wonderful day.  We were painting the Tourmaline Shell.  Eileen was the only one who had knit the shawl.  Everyone painted everything they wanted and mostly even got the results they wanted.  Lindsay – who hates to waste knitting, created another beautiful sample swatch – she had created a small scarf last year.  This year – a full size rectangular shawl – it was a great choice for handpainting.

The results of all projects look spectacular!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Execution, Painting with dyes, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Ode To Murphy!

Leave a Reply

