From Blue Moon to Harvest Moon

A second Full Moon in a month is a “Blue” moon – and this was a spectacular one! The evening started with rain clouds, rainbows and a gorgeous sunset!

As it got darker the moon got brighter and the water reflections were gorgeous!

This Labour Day weekend started with a Blue Moon on the Friday night – the second full moon in a month’s period – and ended with a Harvest Moon – a brilliant orange moon –  on the Sunday night.  And in between some gorgeous sunrises.  Start to finish an incredible weekend.

The mist rising over Cowichan Lake as the run comes up!

We spent the weekend at a friends’ cabin on Cowichan Lake.  The cabin is between Honeymoon Bay and Gordon Bay.  It was a wonderful weekend and like all long weekend’s way to short.  We came home on the Monday morning to take care of laundry and other such tasks.  How very mundane after such an amazing weekend.

Cowichan Lake is a large freshwater lake in the interior of Vancouver Island.  It is in the Cowichan Valley and has several arms.

Map of Lake Cowichan.

Our friends have a cabin on one of the arms.  The Cabin is right across from Bald Mountain and has a wonderful view of the sunrise and the moonrise.  Next time I will remember to take my tripod!  What incredible views to have!

We had wonderful weather all weekend.  There was just a little rain as we drove up and that cleared by the time the moon came up over the mountains around us.  We were blessed with beautiful sunrises and gorgeous moonrises.

Vigorous growth on top of an ancient trunk. The trunk is about 12 feet tall before new tree starts growing.

Fireweed along the road in a clearing.

The growth in the valley is lush.  There are many logged area, some replanted already, some waiting for replanting, but all covered by lush growth;  fireweed, berries, salal, and small maples, beech and conifers.

We went for a walk along the lake and we could see trunks of trees, some 6 to 8 feet in diameter, with the step cuts (boards used to be inserted into these cut for the loggers to stand on to find the best point to cut the tree down) up the side to the final cut.  History cut into the trunk and from those trunks more trees growing vigorously.  Logging for a long time was the main industry of the Valley.

Classic West Coast – Sunrise through the Marine fog.

When I was very little – 5 years old – we lived in a logging camp at Nitinat Lake for a year.  I still remember the tall trees and playing around the edges of the forest.  An incredible place.  Natinat Lake is not far from Lake Cowichan and they share the same topography and plant life.

Fair-Isle Mitten – 8 colours of Jamieson’s Spindrift!

I got a great deal of knitting done on the Fair-Isle fingerless mitten sample that I was creating for the class this fall.  I love them.   I also worked on some socks for myself and another design idea for a shawl.  It was a fun and productive weekend.

This morning I finally got the Tourmaline Shawl blocked out on the floor.  It is looking great.  This weekend I hope to get some good pictures of the shawl before it is painted.

The Harvest Moon – you can see the orange reflected in the lake but the moon itself does not show the beautiful orange that it was reflecting.

The fall is fast approaching.  I cannot believe how fast.  The nights are cooler and the days so much shorter.  Leaves are starting to turn and fall from the trees.  This is my favorite time of the year.  I can pull my sweaters out of the closet and freshen them up for wearing again!

There are quite a few pictures this time around – but not many of the Harvest Moon.  Those that I took did not show the brilliant orange colour that the moon was reflecting from the sun.  There were just so many beautiful images to capture.  I hope that you will enjoy them.

Happy Knitting and Viewing

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, knitting, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

