All About the Knit

Marking the round.

This week I am writing patterns for the knitting I did last week and I have started an eternity scarf for the store.

Longevity Eternity Scarf under construction.

At the store we got in some great yarn yesterday.  One yarn was from Queensland Collection, a hand-dyed chunky yarn called Alpaca Bamboo Soft.  It called my name and said KnitMe!  The scarf will be long, about 80 inches, and about 5 – 6 inches wide.  It will take 2 hanks.

Longevity update – I finished the scarf – last night!  Easy knitting!  It is 75 inches long and 5.5 inches wide; It feels fabulous!

Princess Mittens

Other patterns that I am working on include: Princess Mittens, cute, beaded, lace fingerless mittens – Princess yarn by Classic Elite and size 6/0 beads;

Bonus Cap for Sailor Rib Sweater

Sailor Ribs – a top-down toddler sweater with a bonus cap;

Sailor Ribs Sweater

both pieces are knit with a DK weight yarn that has a long slow striping pattern, Tosca Light.

Patina Shawl – for the new KAL;

Layers of Rimu 4-ply – surprise for later!

and Saracen, knit with Rimu 4-ply – a shawl for a Spring Workshop and “gasp” it isn’t lace!

I am always thinking and dreaming up new ideas.  A colour, a texture and the ideas flow – most of the time, sometimes they trickle and sometimes a dam is in place.

When I can’t reach a new idea I look at old ones – I love vintage pieces – pull out some of my beads or fondle my stash.  It usually doesn’t take much for the ideas to flow!

Some new beads for the stash – these are always full of colour and interest.

Last week – when I took some time off – I liberated the “Blue” room, my knitting room, formerly my son’s bedroom.  The Blue room had become the room of choice – the one that got loaded down with everything that we wanted up and out of Sophie’s reach!

This room holds my books, stash, comfortable couch, great lighting, beads, etc.  It is always a little messy as I am not a very neat person!  It took all week, working a section at a time to clear the eight and a half month’s of Sophie saves!  It is great to be able to walk in and find my “stuff” – what-ever it was that I was looking for!

My photo’s also provide inspiration when ideas are slow to flow!

I hope that your stash is accessible and your ideas always flow!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

PS. Vogue knitting has put up the 360° video of the cabled hat in the Holiday 2012 edition.

Look for #26 cabled Toque!

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in beads, Design - Creation, Design - Execution, KAL - Patina, knitting, Learning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

