Final Fruits and Flowers of the Fall – A Celebration

At Louden Park a week ago!

Over the last couple of weeks I have been collecting pictures of the last few flowers and fruits of the fall.

This time of year is my favorite – the crispness of the air – the clarity of the skies and the fruits of the season.  Not just the fruits that we harvest, but the berries and seeds of the wild plants and trees.  The promise of more life in the Spring and the colours of the fruits as they ripen.

Just starting to go to seed!

It is the time of year when everything seems to take a breath and wait…… we all know that Winter is coming…… but while waiting for it to arrive the Earth is going to paint everything with joyous colour.

Jelly anyone?

Berries, Rose hips, and Fruits – they are all focusing on finishing the work of the Summer!

Cooking changes at this time of the year as well.  The Turkey at Thanksgiving starts the change.  Gone are the lighter meals of Summer, the salads and barbecue and the Berry Shortcakes and Plum tarts.

Brave flashes of colour in a dying garden.

This weekend I made the first of the soups and stews that we seem to eat more of in the Fall and Winter months.  A French Onion soup to have before the Roast Chicken tomorrow night.  Tomorrow nights veggies will include roast Parsnips and Sweet Potatoes – a dish that only comes out in the Fall and Winter!  Tonight we have Coleslaw with our Ribs – Cabbage and Carrots are more economical than Lettuce and Tomato at this time of year.

One of the many Maple Leaves on the ground.

As the Seasons change so do we.  We change our habits and eat differently!  We walk less when we should walk more and we miss the Sun.  The days are too short and the nights too cold.  Comfort food – the food that makes feel better and compensates for the change in the weather – is what we crave.

The smell of Fall is in the air – wood smoke and rotting leaves vie for attention.  Wood smoke is my favorite – like the smell of new-mown grass in the Spring and Summer – wood smoke means fall to me.

Celebrate your Fall!

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Fruits and Flowers of the Fall – A Celebration

  1. Lynne Bresselaar says:

    Lynette, your pictures are stunning. The blackberries, the bulrushes, everything.

Leave a Reply

