Sunday Afternoon Knitting – Again!

Millstream is so high after all the rain lately – last time I was here the stream was only about 2 feet wide in some places – now the water is roaring down!

What a gorgeous Sunday.  The fog is heavy and the leaves are falling and we are warm and cozy inside after our walk through Bowen Park.  I have a pot of stew on the stove, burbling away for supper tonight and making cookies is planned for later!

The pot on the stove is special.  It is one of the Guardian Ware pots that my Grannie Nellie owned.  It is the big Dutch Oven – 12 quart size – and I am loving the way it cooks.  This pot has a very heavy bottom and requires little heat to maintain a simmer once established.  My father gave it to me a couple of weeks ago and I was just itching to try it out!  I already have the large turkey roaster – it can hold a 25 lb bird, covered, and I use it for every turkey!

Today’s stew is beef.  Right now it is simmering away with onions, garlic, mushrooms and fresh herbs, bay leaves, flat and curly leaf parsley and sage.  Later I’ll add the rest of the vegetables, carrots, celery and peppers.  I serve my stew with dumplings and baking powder biscuits.  Today I’ll cook a few potatoes as well.  Dad is coming for dinner and he likes potatoes with his stew.

Golden Maple Leaves carpeted many of the paths through the park.

It has been a very good weekend for knitting.  Once I got over the fact that I had brought the wrong yarn home.  I needed some more Rowan Felted Tweed to finish the Hat to match the Mittens; I wasn’t paying attention and grabbed the wrong yarn.  So I played instead!

I knit a cowl; bulky yarn, big needles and have even taken a little time to paint it!  I had this single hank of Big Baby in my stash.  I bought it because it was undyed and I wanted to play.  So play I did.

Baby Lace Cowl

Undyed fibres – I needed an extra 4 or 5 yds more than the 80 yds in the Big Baby. Since I was painting it – it wasn’t a problem.

80m, 88yds bulky yarn – approx 80m to 100 grs;  I used Big Baby by Alpaca With a Twist + about 4 or 5 yds of Rowan Pure Life Chunky in the Blue Faced Leicester – I needed it for the cast-off;  9mm 24inch circs.

Dimensions: unblocked, 8 inches long and 26 inches around; blocked, 10 inches long and 29 inches around.

Gauge:  loose – one pattern repeat, 11 sts = 4 3/4 inches

Loosely cast-on 66 st.  Being careful not to twist the cast-on join into a round and work the following rows.

I painted some highlights into mine. Wine Rose by Procion dyes.

Round 1 – *K1, YO, K3, K3tog, K3, YO, K1; repeat from * 6 times around.

Round 2 – Purl.

Repeat these two rounds 12 times.  If you are working with just one hank of Big Baby repeat the pattern rows 10 times.  Finish with the K2tog Bind-off.

K2tog Bind-Off:  K2, slip the sts back to the left hand needle, and K2tog.  *K1, slip the 2 sts back to the left hand needle, K2tog*.  Repeat from * to the end of the round.

Jeannette and the sequined cotton from Maiwa – called Dreamin’.

I have two hanks of Jeannette by Mountain Colors in my stash for a little while – Colourway Wild Raspberry.  I bought it to use with some interesting sequin thread that my daughter gave me from Maiwa.  I have been dreaming and thinking about what to do with the yarn for a while.  This weekend I decided so I did some more playing – and I am very pleased with the results!

Dreamin’ Details – only about 6 inches knit so far. But every six rows each row will be 2 stitches shorter.

I have the kept the stitches simple to allow the yarn to sing out.  It will be almost pennant shaped when it is finished.  The ends will be knit in seed st with the sequins and the body is a simple faggotting stitch without the sequins.  Once blocked it should be about 4 1/2 feet long.  If there is enough yarn I will finish the sides with some single crochet.

Leaves are changing colour and falling fast!

After all of the rain in the last couple of weeks I was not surprised by the changes that I saw in Bowen Park.  It is Fall and the leaves are falling in vast quantities and the trees are quickly becoming bare.

It was Millstream that really surprised me.

Millstream roaring over the roots of trees on the bank.

Last time I saw it was barely moving, a narrow brook, very shallow and very slow.  Now the water is roaring down the channels and over the tree trunks and leaping over rocks.  It was exhilarating.

Cookies are next on my Agenda; followed by some more knitting on “Dreamin”.  I hope that you are having a great day!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, knitting, pattern, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Afternoon Knitting – Again!

  1. oh what a lovely blog, from the stew to the knitting to the pictures of the trees! So full of texture! I’m so glad I cam and read it!

  2. Pingback: On the Needles (or off) « Thoughts Along Life's Highway

Leave a Reply

