Westwood Ho!

Protected under the canopy of trees for most of the walk!

Yesterday we walked all the way around Westwood Lake.  We hadn’t intended on it, it was snowing, sleeting, raining and blowing; but it was a great walk, and it just sort of happened!

Looking to the west side of Westwood Lake!

We had started out with the intention of just walking around part of Westwood; to try the other end of the lake, different from our walk a few weeks ago, it wasn’t a nice day; we planned having a quick walk for Sophie!

As we got started it was miserable, there was snow mixed in the with the rain or rain mixed with the snow!  And it was blowing sideways at times.

Tall trees line the pathways of the lake walk.

As we got further under the trees we got more protected – it was still cold, but it wasn’t too bad.  The walk is beautiful and before we knew it we were two klicks into a 6 klick walk – it was just as easy to carry on with the walk.

The walk is clear, mostly protected and mostly flat, with the hills being on the south (I think it is south) end of the lake.  A major power line at one point parallels the walk itself and this is now a dog-of-leash park.

By the end of the walk, it was no longer raining too hard and the lake was calm and very reflective.

In the summer this would be a great walk for keeping cool as everything is mostly shaded by tall trees, Aspens, Maples, Cedars and Pines.  These trees were the ones protecting us from the winds!  There are board walks built out around the lake in spots and many bridges and culverts; bridges over moving water and culverts under the paths; Sophie felt compelled to check out every culvert and/or hole she could find!

A cascade of bracelets, in this case on a branch. The image is advertising from a Scandinavian store site – Olsson and Jensen inredning. The bracelets with the button closures really reminded me of anther image, one I had created……

After we came home I made some hot chocolate and then some lunch.  The remainder of the day was spent inside, keeping warm and busy.  It basically rained the rest of the day, pouring at times.  It was a good day to stay inside.  I baked an apple pie and made ribs for supper.  And puttered about the cleaning that is never-ending in everyone’s home.

……Cascading Beaded Bracelets – Edwardian Bead Knit Bracelets – The world is not so very different from here sometimes.

Have you ever spent any time on Pinterest?  It can suck up a lot of time if you are not careful, but it is also very interesting, full of images of other times and other people’s ideas of interesting items and details.  While I was cruising around Pinterest yesterday this one image caught my eye.  It was very similar to an image I had created earlier this year.  The world is very small sometimes.

Riveted bag – details – 2 rows of attached I-cord, twisted and attached while knitting. I love the colours.

In the evening I worked some more on the riveted bag.  I am liking the way this is working out!  I have started the next section of entrelac from the other side of the twisted I-cord.  Great fun.

Today I am going to continue working on the riveted bag; work on the patterns;  maybe have a photo shoot if the weather co-operates; and this afternoon we want to go see Skyfall – the new Bond movie.

A full day – perfect for the fall – I love this time of year!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Execution, pattern, play and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

