Etched Glass

Peeks of the frozen lake as we walked around the park.

Peeks of the frozen lake as we walked around the park.

It seems appropriate to me that it is icy outside and I am warm inside, contemplating a new sweater for myself.  Appropriate?  Why?

I have new Yarn.  I have an Idea.  I could not Resist.

My new stash of Tracie.

My new stash of Tracie.

The yarn is Tracie, a woolen spun sport weight from the Imperial Yarn Company.  The idea is a tunic style sweater edged in lace and sometimes “resistance is futile”!

The pattern that I want to incorporate into my new sweater is a lace pattern called Frost Flowers from Barbara Walker’s First Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  I have just wound one of my new skeins of Tracie, in the Dusty Rose colour, and I am about to cast-on for my gauge swatch cap – a la Elizabeth Zimmermann.

Tracie and needle waiting patiently for me!

Tracie and needle waiting patiently for me!

The Frost Flower pattern has been one of my favorite’s for a long time, but the only thing that I have knit with it was a pair of socks for a dear friend.  I have wanted to knit a sweater with it for quite a while.  Today’s walk was all the inspiration I needed to start.

The cold arms of a dead tree branch reach out of the frozen surface of lost lake.

The cold arms of a dead tree branch reach out of the frozen surface of lost lake.

We went for a walk around Lost Lake this morning.  It was cold, and alternately cloudy and clear.  Lost Lake was frozen over, from one side to the other.  At the edges the ice was close to 1/2 inch thick where Sophie broke through trying to get at the water.  You could see the eddies frozen in place across the surface of the lace.  It was beautiful.

It was amazing how little snow there was on the ground in the park, when you consider how much snow there was around the park itself.  But underneath the trees there was little snow, just small patches of it here and there.

Moss and Lichens growing profusely...

Moss and Lichens growing profusely…

It was mostly green under the trees, moss, lichens, and fungus growing everywhere in great profusion.

.....Adorning every surface.

…..Adorning every surface.

Around the edges of the lake, red and grey branches, adorned with brown and dried flower heads, all reflecting off the icy surface of the lake. Above the branches the evergreens added both dark and bright notes of colour.  And soaring over all, the skys, alternating blues, whites and greys!

Who says that there is no colour in Winter?  The colours of Winter are harder and deeper than the colours of summer, but no less plentiful.

As we drove home from Lost Lake, we approached the corner where Lost Lake Rd turns sharply right – and the world was at our feet.

The air was so clear that we could see the Coastal Mountain Range across Georgia Straight.

The air was so clear that we could see the Coastal Mountain Range across Georgia Straight.

It was stunning – my husband stopped the car and I took several photographs.  I hope that you enjoy the view.

I will be spending the afternoon knitting as my husband watches the Baltimore at Denver football game.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Design - Creation, Design - Inspiration, Elizabeth Zimmerman, knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

