50 Shades of Grey – A Wet West Coast Day!

The title may be a bit of “tongue in cheek” humour!  But it is an accurate description of a classic West Coast Day.  Layers of grey clouds over shifting grey ocean waters.

50 Shades of Grey

50 Shades of Grey

It was/is raining today.  A perfect day to try out my new camera “rain gear” – a Christmas gift from my husband.  I also received a swivelling “head” for my new monopod – these were the best gifts ever.

More shades of grey, pebbled with many coloured stones and hightlighted with silver foam.

More shades of grey, pebbled with many coloured stones and highlighted with silver foam.

The rain gear worked perfectly and protected my good lens.

Flashes of Red Seaweed on the Beach

Flashes of Red Seaweed on the Beach

The monopod – and its new head – are both made by Manfrotto.  The monopod keeps my shots steady when the angles are poor or it is really windy.  I have had to learn how to use it properly – but once learned – it has been fabulous.  I have missed a few shots loosening the head up to swivel the camera, but as I use it more and more I get better as well!

Gnarled Gary Oaks, outlined agained the grey sky.

Gnarled Gary Oaks, outlined against the grey sky.

Today at Piper’s it was windy, rainy and cold.  But it was beautiful.  On the Lagoon side it was calm and there was a small flock of Wigeon ducks.  On the water side the spray blew up onto the beach and their were whitecaps out on the water.  Glorious!

Widgeon Ducks on the Lagoon side of Piper's.

Widgeon Ducks on the Lagoon side of Piper’s.

Yes it was grey.  But there were flashes of red on the beach and in the bark of the bushes along the beach.  There were green lichens and yellow and brown beach grasses and behind it all the evergreen of the fir and cedars!  The gnarled Gary Oaks offered a hard grey-brown note to the skyline and the water showed shades of greens mixed with the greys!

Piper's Point on the Ocean Side of the Lagoon.  Many times in the past I had heard and seen a bag-piper  playing up on the point.  I have not seen him do so in years, I wonder if he still plays?

Piper’s Point on the Ocean Side of the Lagoon. Many times in the past I had heard and seen a bag-piper playing up on the point. I have not seen him do so in years, I wonder if he still plays?

As we walked down into one of the small coves at Piper’s my eye was caught by and Inukshuk, standing on the stones and declaring to the world that someone had been here. I took a picture to show that I had followed.

I was here!

I was here!

So it was 50 shades of grey and every other colour as well!

Happy Walking!

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 50 Shades of Grey – A Wet West Coast Day!

  1. Those ducks are so cool! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Payback! | Le Tissier Designs

Leave a Reply

