Ongoing – This, That, and the Next Thing!

A farmer in the 19th-century, Wilson Bentley became famous for photographing more than 5,000 jewel-like snowflakes. Bentley, also known as The Snowflake Man, was fascinated with the icy precipitation, and he was able to capture one on film in 1885.

A farmer in the 19th-century, Wilson Bentley became famous for photographing more than 5,000 jewel-like snowflakes. Bentley, also known as The Snowflake Man, was fascinated with the icy precipitation, and he was able to capture one on film in 1885.

Our life, our choices in our life; influence everything we do.  Inspiration comes from our choices, and the consequences of those choices.  Inspiration is also all around us.  Sometimes it is blatant and unmistakable, sometimes it sneaks up and when we look at what we created and realize – so that is where the idea came from!

Ongoing – Abbott and the Double Knit Scarf

Dark side with the correct background!

Dark side with the correct background!

Right now I am working on the Sample Scarf for the Retreat.  It is a wondrous double-knit scarf, completely reversible and not my pattern.  It was designed by Abbott Smith.  He will be teaching at the retreat this year.

It is worked in Rowan Fine Tweed and the sample colourway that I am working in is the dark, rich Autumn colours.  You are thinking, what is she talking about I have seen the pictures; well, what you saw was me cutting yarn, and changing colours right before bedtime – I was anxious to see how the colours would work!

Light side with the correct contrast!

Light side with the correct contrast!

Well – I cut the wrong colour and it took me a few days to figure that out!  So now we have a swatch of what not to do and a much nicer scarf underway.

I put the yarn away for a couple of days before I started the second version, shaming it or me!

This – Franklin and the Pineapple Bag

Franklins beautiful bag.Photo Copyright F.Habit.  All rights reserved.  Used with Permission.

Franklin’s beautiful bag.
Photo Copyright F.Habit. All rights reserved. Used with Permission.

I read Franklin Habit’s Blog – The Panopticon.  Last Spring he blogged about this gorgeous pineapple bag, a vintage pattern that he had reknit and rewritten for Knitty.  The pattern came out in the Spring 2012 Knitty.

I wanted to knit that bag; I yearned to knit that bag; I had yarn to knit that bag, beautiful Handmaiden Silk; but I did not have time to knit that bag; between knitting and writing patterns for Vogue and my own stuff for classes for work; I had no time.

12 inch tassel before felting.

12 inch tassel before felting.

In the fall I started working on the samples for this Springs’ Classes.  I wanted to do a new felted bag and I love the combination of Entrelac and felting.  The results are always great!  The bag was going to be circular,  and would feature some fun ways to play with I-cord.

Entrelac Pineapple Bag after Felting.

Entrelac Pineapple Bag after Felting.

As I knit the bag and as I got further into the knitting of the that bag I realized that I was not knitting just a circular bag – I was knitting a pineapple shaped circular bag.

Franklin’s Pineapple Bag had snuck up on me, in my unconscious mind and caused me to create a modern version.  Larger, and felted, with a “Shabby Chic” feel to it, but a pineapple bag!  The resemblance is unmistakable!

Before felting the bag and tassel were 35 inches long, with the tassel being 12 inches long.  After felting te bag and tassel are 26 inches long, with the tassel being about 7 inches long.  Entrelac felts to a different ratio than a straight knit – it’s all those angles.  It remains closer to the original size.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That – Clara and the Great White Bale

Late last fall an opportunity came my way.  Clara Parkes was starting a new project, and was looking for interested explorers to join her on the journey.  I had some money saved – I really wanted a new wide-angle lens for my camera – but this project was too interesting to pass up –   the lens could wait.  I wanted to do it all – I wanted the yarn and the experience so I spent the money on the journey.

And what a journey it already has been.  I have learned more about the business of yarn creation, and the steps taken before the yarn even hits the mill than I had dreamed possible.

I will eventually be knitting some of Clara's yarn.  And I know that I will want to paint my knititng with dyes - just like this one!

I will eventually be knitting some of Clara’s yarn. And I know that I will want to paint my knitting with dyes – just like this one!

No yarn yet, the bale is still in Texas, where it was being scoured.  Why Texas?  Texas is the only place in the US where a sheep farmer can get large quantities of fibre scoured for a reasonable cost.  Scouring is not even the main event at this facility.  It’s main job is to make hats, the scouring of yarn is just secondary.  Check out Bollman’s Hats.  Clara has made a short Video of the scouring process for us to share.

So far the main message I have taken from what I have learned is that yarn production, like any business, is fraught with logistics, costs; economics of scale, basically the smaller the production the higher the costs!  Also learned, small operations don’t work with the modern business model.    Is it time to change the model?

The Next Thing – Lynette and Handpainting More Lace With Dyes

Perfectly beautiful images of snowflakes!

Perfectly beautiful images of snowflakes!

As I work through the scarf I know that I cannot work on it alone.  It is not me; It is hard on my hands: I am not being creative; etc; so I started a new painting project.

I hope to create quite a few painting projects this year.  Some with Clara’s yarn and a few others as well.

I am ordering some yarn from Handmaiden to try out for Mad About Ewe’s Summer Painting Class – a two-ply Blue Faced Leicester.  It will knit like a four-ply yarn; I can hardly wait until it arrives!

Crystalline

Snowflake center for back.

Snowflake center for back.

I am working with some Lush, by Classic Elite.  This is a yarn from my stash and is unfortunately discontinued; I love the yarn, fabulous hand and so soft.  I do have a couple of reservations though – to make it the yarn so white it must have been bleached.  How will the bleaching effect the dyes?  Something new for me to learn.

Side panel under construciton.

Side panel under construciton.

The wrap will feature a snowflake style pattern on the back with open lace for the side panels.  The center motif is six sided just like a snowflake an the side panels will each go off on an angle.  The edging is still under consideration.

I have another painting project on hold that I am going to resurrect as well.

La Belle Epoche

Miles and Miles of wide edging still to do!

Miles and Miles of wide lace edging still to do!

A large triangle with a ruched, mohair/silk blend center, Montague by Handmaiden and miles of edging, also in a silk/mohair blend, Maidenhair by Handmaiden.  I am working on the miles of edging that encompasses that ruched triangle center!  Then maybe I will add some beaded roses and leaves.  I do love to embellish!

What are your projects right now?  Do you have lots on the go?  Or are you a one project style of knitter?

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, Design - Inspiration, Great While Bale, knitting, Painting with dyes, pattern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

