February Swans

Swans on Hemer Marsh

Swans on Hemer Marsh

Swan – In the English language, the word swan comes down unchanged from the
Anglo-Saxon times.

Swans were associated with the ancient gods and stories often
reflected their ability to link different worlds and dimensions. A symbol of the
beauty within, almost everyone has heard the story of “The Ugly Ducking” which
later transforms into the beautiful adult. Transformations are inherent to swan folklore.  Many folklore stories involve swans and attribute them with connections to the fairy realm.

Swans and Reflections

Swans and Reflections

Swan Lake, The Swan Princess, Leda and the Swan; William Butler Yeats wrote about the Swans of October – Wild Swans at Coole.  There is something almost magical about a Swan.  They are part of heraldry and the lore of heraldry and love; in the star charts – Cygnus the Swan; Swans have fascinated humanity for a very long time.

I am just as fascinated.  I saw the Swans of February at Hemer Park, on the marsh side.  There were 19 there today.  I had never before been able to photograph a swan in the wild.  I wish that I was a better photographer, I do not think that I did them justice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This dam of debris and reeds was keeping the water off the path and allowing it to drain under the bridge.

This dam of debris and reeds was keeping the water off the path and allowing it to drain under the bridge.

The water in the marsh is at least a foot higher than the last time I was here; the reed bundles are flooded with water and  a dam along the shore is keeping the water from flooding the path at one of the low points on the walk beside the marsh.

Maple Leafturned to Lace over the Winter!

Maple Leaf
turned to Lace over the Winter!

 

The walk through the remainder of the park was beautiful.  Everything right now is painted green with moss an lichens.  The ground is soft and muddy and the waters of Holden Lake, like the marsh, are high.  We saw a small flock of Common Merganser Ducks and many Mallard Ducks as well.

Bridge and reflections on the Upper Lake at Colliery Dam Park.

Bridge and reflections on the Upper Lake at Colliery Dam Park.

It has been a good Weekend for walks; yesterday we went to Colliery Dam Park; the fairy mushrooms were still there; the lakes were so calm that the reflections were amazing!  Really, the reflections have been incredible for the last two days.  There has been absolutely no wind!

Ghostly branches!

Ghostly branches!

When we started the walk the air was a little foggy, it gave the trees a ghostly feel as we walked into the park.  As we walked out of the park the sun was trying to peek through the trees, it was a good walk.

Bleached and barnacled!

Bleached and barnacled!

In the afternoon we walked Departure Bay Beach; the tide was waaaaay out!  There were many things that we don’t usually see at Departure Bay Beach; sand dollars, sea stars; and sand – Departure Bay is a very rocky beach!

Sophie playing with the Whiffle Ball!

Sophie playing with the Whiffle Ball!

Sophie got to run and play fetch with a Whiffle Ball that we found on the beach.  She had a great time with that ball!

Heavy landing!

Heavy landing!

When I wasn’t walking I was knitting!  It really has been a great weekend so far.  I am progressing very well with my knitting as well.  Once this is posted I am off to knit some more.

Today is the Super Bowl.  I am cheering for San Francisco.  But mostly I will be knitting.  Football is a wonderful background to knitting.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February Swans

  1. Pingback: People Are Awesome! – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

Leave a Reply

