Wanted – More Yarn!

Crystalline - wings attached and edging started.

Crystalline – wings attached and edging started.

I am working on Crystalline as fast as I can, in the grim hope that I have enough yarn!  Grim, because the yarn ‘Lush’ by Classic Elite is no longer available.  You know the theory – if you knit faster the yarn will magically become longer and do what you need it to!

A perfect snowflake - it could have been the inspiration for this motif!   A farmer in the 19th-century, Wilson Bentley became famous for photographing more than 5,000 jewel-like snowflakes. Bentley, also known as The Snowflake Man, was fascinated with the icy precipitation, and he was able to capture one on film in 1885.

A perfect snowflake – it could have been the inspiration for this motif! A farmer in the 19th-century, Wilson Bentley became famous for photographing more than 5,000 jewel-like snowflakes. Bentley, also known as The Snowflake Man, was fascinated with the icy precipitation, and he was able to capture one on film in 1885.

Crystalline is beautiful.  Both wings are grafted on and the adaptations to make the motif pattern transition to the wing pattern worked.  There is however, a problem.

I have started the edging on the shawl.  I love the edging.  But I may not have enough yarn to complete the edging all the way around the shawl.  I have not looked on Ravelry – yet!  If I look then I am hooped – I will need more yarn.  It is a knitters kind of logic!

Edging - bold and beautiful.

Edging – bold and beautiful.

Pause…….

I just looked – it was depressing – all the white was listed as not for sale!  I will have to come up with another option.  I may not need any extra yarn – I did do the math.  But sometimes math and knitting do not always agree!

According to the math I need 165 grs of yarn to edge the shawl.  I have 180 grs of yarn left.  I have 15 grs extra – this 15 grs does not fill me with much certainty.  But I will continue and check again at the halfway point – I can always rip out then!

I do have a bit of a plan.  Do the wide edging – the one I am currently working – on the long front edge only.  Change to a narrow edge; one that is similar to the wide edge, for the back and bottom edges.  It would work, might even look good, but I love the wide edge!

Retreat Double Knit Scarf.

Retreat Double Knit Scarf.

Enough of the Whinging!

Full view of scarf.

Full view of scarf.

The retreat scarf is going well – it would go even better if I worked on it more.  Tonight I promise; last night I really wanted to see how the edging would look and to see if I had enough yardage!  We know how that turned out!

The pattern of the scarf and the colours are beautiful – having both sides of the scarf knit at once is very cool.  The finishing in of the ends is so simple – they just pop into the knit and stay there!

Stew for supper tonight – I started it last night and it is heating up right now so that I can add the vegetables.  I’ll make biscuits this evening to go with the stew – cheese biscuits.  Yumm…. hot from the oven, slathers of butter, dripping down the sides.

Have a great Day

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Execution, Learning, Retreat, technique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanted – More Yarn!

  1. Anthea Boechler says:

    Lynette, In the past I have bought yarn on Ravelry that is not,”for sale”. It is worth a try! Good luck. Anthea

    Yarns are like friends, you can choose the ones with which you wish to spend time.

Leave a Reply

