A Walk around the Grounds!

Saturday morning, early!

Saturday morning, early!

Images from Kiwi Cove.

The Retreat at Kiwi Cove is over and we are all back home and taking stock of the weekend.  For me – it was fabulous.  I learned some, got some great ideas for future projects and I got a few moments to go out and photograph an incredible location.

Song from on HIgh.

Song from on HIgh.

Kiwi Cove is right at the end of Ladysmith Harbour – a deep inlet that runs into the island to create a very protected harbour.  From the beach at the Cove you can see right up the Ladysmith Harbour.

The grounds at Kiwi Cove are quite extensive with good walking paths and great places to take pictures or just sit and contemplate the world and your surroundings.

There are so many birds at Kiwi Cove.  I didn’t know what I was seeing but there was constant movement out of the corner’s of my eye!  There were bird feeders and birdhouses, hawks and robins.  Fabulous!

Soft rain, bright sun, beautiful.

Soft rain, bright sun, beautiful.

Good Day Sunshine.

Good Day Sunshine.

Friday afternoon when we arrived there was very light rain combined with sunshine – very soft and pretty.  The branches gleamed with rain-drops and the birds were darting everywhere through the rain-wet branches.

It was Saturday morning that was incredible.  It was clear and beautiful and I was out at 7:00am to see the sun come up and illuminate the mountains that run down the center of the Island.

Looking straight down LadySmith Harbour.

Looking straight down Ladysmith Harbour.

I couldn’t stop taking pictures.  Everywhere I looked there was something new to see.  Some dried flower heads, every detail clear in the morning sun.  Birds singing from the trees and a few sleepy ones as well!  As the sun rose higher in the sky more things would show up to the eye.  I enjoyed every minute of the early morning walk!

The Retreat was great – here is the link.

This Retreat was pretty special for me for another reason.  A few of my friends got together and decided to knit one of my designs from Vogue – Spring 2012 – the Semi-circle shawl.  They all showed up at the Show and Tell draped in the shawl.  I was very touched by their actions!

Friends.

Friends.

I am already planning the project for next years retreat.  And my mind is buzzing with other possibilities as well.  The weekend left me energized and ready to create for the next year.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Photography, Retreat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

