Out of the Fog

 

When we arrived the other side of the lake was cloaked in fog.

When we arrived the other side of the lake was cloaked in fog.

 

Views were misty and muted as we peered through the foliage.

Views were misty and muted as we peered through the foliage.

We were promised sun yesterday – but the Powers That Be had other plans!  There was sun out there but it was obscured by the heavy fog that started the day.

Everything is starting to bud!

Everything is starting to bud!

We headed up to Westwood Lake.  Quite often if it is foggy down by the Ocean it would be clearer that little bit up the mountain.  Today it was foggy all the way up!  But if we hustled our walk, we could be back in time to watch the Brier on TV.

Some of the drowned trees are drear and sad.

Some of the drowned trees are drear and sad.

We did not hustle quite as well as my husband hoped – it was foggy – which changed the light – so I took quite a few pictures!  As we walked around the lake the fog started to lift changing the light as we walked and the clouds shifted and lifted.

Other logs supported a world of new life.

Other logs supported a world of new life.

We saw sun and blue skies, intermittently, as we walked around the lake.  Sometimes the views were misty and muted, softened by the fog.  At other times everything was clear and outlined by the sun.

Misty morning views

Misty morning views

The drowned trunks in the lake were particularly beautiful that morning.  Some drear and standing tall, others supporting a whole world of new life.

Fungi and lichen are at their best right now.

Fungi and lichen are at their best right now.

There are signs of Spring everywhere – buds are opening and branches are greening.

One thing about the Coastal Winter, there is so much moisture in the air, that the fungus, lichens and moss keep on growing, each showing differently on the surfaces around us.  I am particularly fascinated by the fungi.  Especially the waving plates as they grow across the downed trunks.

Wavy tree fungus, showing its beauty.

Wavy tree fungus, showing its beauty.

There are ways of using lichens to dye yarn – some day I may explore that!  We have so much around here to choose from!

 

Hellebores are blooming.

Hellebores are blooming.

In the garden the Hellebores and crocus are blooming.  The daffodils are about to open.  Spring is here!IMG_0583

Happy Walking

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Out of the Fog

  1. Lynette, your photographs are wonderful! It is deeply refreshing to see such a celebration of life forms. Hope you do some lichen dyeing!!

  2. Pingback: Random Thoughts in the Fog | Serendipity 13

Leave a Reply

