Beach Dreams

Rocky Beaches seem to invite artistic endeavors!  Inukshuk at Piper's Lagoon.

Rocky Beaches seem to invite artistic endeavors! Inukshuk at Piper’s Lagoon.

Beach Access almost always seems to mean a very long flight of stairs for incredible views and beach only at low tide!

Beach Access almost always seems to mean a very long flight of stairs for incredible views and beach only at low tide!

Living on an Island we are surrounded by beaches.  Living on the East Coast of Vancouver Island many of our beaches are rocky rather than sandy.  There are parks with beaches, alleys with beaches and then there are Beach Access points.  Each has its own variation of “beach”.

Long beach – between Ucluelet and Tofino is the best beach in the world, miles upon miles of sand and pounding surf.  I think that we are due for another visit soon.  The slideshow is from our last visit – almost two years ago!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Piper's Lagoon at low tide.

Piper’s Lagoon at low tide.

Our beaches here have surf as well, usually a little kinder than the waves to our west.  But the beaches are not quite the same.  In Nanaimo, most beaches are rocky.  Some with sand only at high tides, some never with sand.

Very Rocky beach at Stephenson point access.

Very Rocky beach at Stephenson point access.

Those that have sand quite often lose the sand over the winter.  Or the sand will shift from one spot on the beach to another.  After the winter there is usually a great accumulation of logs and other debris pushed in by the waves over the winter.  Our beaches are always interesting.

Seagulls lunch

Seagulls lunch

We can spot birds of every description, and boats – from the basic kayak to the large ocean liners and everything in between.  Seals and Sea-lions, Eagles and Owls they are all here to be seen.

We collect beach glass and rocks, shells and driftwood – beaches enhance our lives in so many ways.  Mostly they calm the mind and soul and enhance creativity.

Beach glass behind glass

Beach glass behind glass

Life had been like the sand on the beaches lately.  Something shifts and opportunities have suddenly opened and life is suddenly being consumed by the knitting.  I have two special projects on the go and will be able to share them with you in a couple of weeks.

Low Tide at Departure Bay Beach, ducks bobbing for dinner.

Low Tide at Departure Bay Beach, ducks bobbing for dinner.

I have been beach walking a great deal lately.

I hope that you enjoy the walks along the beaches.  They include Piper’s Lagoon, Departure Bay Beach and a Beach Access off Stephenson Point Rd.  They have been at low tide so there have been many birds looking for dinner or a quiet place to sleep!IMG_1406

Happy Walking and Knitting

Lynette

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, knitting, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

