Victoria Travelogue – Part One

Sun reflecting off of the Strait!

Sun reflecting off of the Strait!

Rocks at Ready!

Rocks at Ready!

The last week and a half have been consumed by the Curling Gods – namely in the form of the Men’s Worlds held in Victoria BC.

Nine hours of draws a day in a breezy arena – I swear that there was a real wind blowing over the back of my neck – For Nine days – is a lot of time to devote to curling.  I took some knitting.

Rocks at Ready!  Beacon Hill Park

Rocks at Ready! Beacon Hill Park

The Knitting

Sleeve underway.

Sleeve underway.

Remember the knitting table?  I am knitting Norah Gaughan’s Reflection Aran Sweater in a gorgeous burgundy shade of Malabrigo for the maker.  The colour of the yarn is “Red Mahogany”.  Perfect for a man who loves wood!

After the many hours of curling and knitting, sore hands and all, I have knit the back, one sleeve and have started the second sleeve.  The front was not curling suitable as it changes so much, not much about repetition in that front panel!

The Location

Holland Point Walkway, Saturday Afternoon March 30th.

Holland Point Walkway, Saturday Afternoon March 30th.

When we were not at the arena we were in our cozy, comfortable and completely gorgeous suite at Menzies Manor.  Just two houses and one road away from the beginning of  Holland Point Park and some completely awesome views of the Georgia Strait.

We stayed in the African Suite and were totally thrilled with the accommodations.  We walked almost everywhere.  And we walked everyday.  Rain or Shine.  Luckily we only had a couple of real downpours and it was mostly beautiful with an incredible start to the week in particular!

The Weather

Easter Weekend was Spectacular.

Spectacular!

Spectacular!

It was spectacular all over the Island.  At Holland Point it was an event.  People flocked to the rocky beach by the hundreds.  We saw them as they walked down the street, March 31, dressed to sun themselves.  There were so many we thought that there must be something going on at the beach, and event of some kind.

YUP!  The event was the sunny day!

The Beach at Holland Point is rocks.  Large boulders, small stones and everything in between, take those rocks, with the sun beating down and add the sun reflecting off of the Ocean.  This was a very “toasty” location.  The locals knew and came to take advantage.

Spectacular!

Spectacular!

Rocky Coastline at Holland Point.

Rocky Coastline at Holland Point.

I hope that you enjoy Victoria this week.  I am also

Female Rufous hummingbird resting on the bare branches of the bush tops by the Holland Park walkway.

Female Rufous hummingbird resting on the bare branches of the bush tops by the Holland Park walkway.

working on the summer class projects and will share those as they progress!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, Life, Photography, play, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

