The Weekend Begins

 

Raindrops on everything in the Spring.

Raindrops on everything in the Spring.

I taught yesterday so my weekend begins today.  The class was the second one for the Saracen Shawl and it was full.  It was a great class and everyone left feeling like they knew what they were doing.

It will be a full weekend – as all weekends seem to be.  Full of the jobs and appointments that don’t or can’t get done during the week.

Raindrops and Daffodils

Raindrops and Daffodils

As I look out into the yard I can see a few hours of weeding and tidying that need to be done – we will see just how much gets accomplished there.  I have a few plans for the raised beds – mostly flowering shrubs and hardy – read Sophie proof – perennials.  Right now the Chickweed rules.

Camellia's after the Rain.  The tree in the front yard is covered in blooms, but the rain is causing them to turn brown so fast!

Camellia’s after the Rain. The tree in the front yard is covered in blooms, but the rain is causing them to turn brown so fast!

I didn’t get to walk last weekend.  I was busy playing withNancy Bush and Estonian Lace knitting.  I will be walking this weekend and looking forward to seeing the changes that time and the changing season is bringing to my favorite places.

The kettle has just boiled and the tea is steeping for the morning brew.  Murchies Queen Victoria Blend this morning.  Something strong and a little smokey to start the day.  I love the blending of black and green teas – they make the most interesting cup of tea.

Moss version of "April Showers".  This was me working out the design.

Moss version of “April Showers”. This was me working out the design.

A few weeks ago I was contacted by Fleece Artist Yarns.  They wanted to know if I would be interested in designing a pattern that used only one hank of yarn.  My first thought was a beautiful laceweight shawl in Lino.  But my hopes were dashed when they specified.  It had to be a single hank pattern using Woolie Silk 3-ply.  Jimmy Beans Wool was looking for a pattern and yarn for a special Mother’s Day Promotion.

Fiona's test knit in the Peach Blossom colourway.

Fiona’s test knit in the Peach Blossom colourway.

I had ideas and I was interested, so I got to work.  On Friday the patterns and yarns were released for the promotion.  My design is called April Showers and was first knit in the Moss colourway as I designed and knit; and then test knit in the special colourway Peach Blossom.

Jimmy Beans cover photo.

Jimmy Beans cover photo.

This week I organized my papers for taxes – that took an evening and a morning.  I don’t much like that job.  I believe that almost every one I know feels the same way.  My friend Robin is a lifesaver.  She prepares my papers for the tax man – once I have them organized!

The Reflections Aran is going well.  I have started the front – the ribbing is done.  This is the last piece of the sweater and the most complicated.  Each cable in the front section is different from its neighbour and there are twists on every right side row.  I will have to pay attention!

A perfect bloom

A perfect bloom

Todays plan involves, a little writing, a little walking, a little knitting, some overdying with a friend and customer, and maybe even some baking – I haven’t made cookies in a while.  Let’s not forget the gardening!  I wonder how much I will really get done?

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Design - Execution, Gardening, knitting, Life, play, Tea and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

