And Miles to Knit

Lace border on the a shawl.  La Belle Epoche - a piece for summer paintng.

Lace border on the a shawl. La Belle Epoche – a piece for summer painting.

……Before I finish!

I have written about edgings before.  They are the finish that turns a shawl into a work of art – or the start that lets the “look”!  They also can take as long or longer than the body of the shawl itself.  Right now I am working on an edge that is going require roughly twice as much yarn as the body of the shawl itself.  It wide and beautiful, gathered at spots on the edge of the shawl.  I designed it this way….What was I thinking!?!

No doubt it will be beautiful when it is done – if it is ever done!  My goal is to get it done this summer.  Once knit it will only need to be painted.  Once painted ….. who knows.  I am amassing quite a collection of painted shawls and scarves.  Maybe it is time to find another obsession……?

This year is turning into the year of yarn.

First of 5 packages!  I can hardly wait - Christmas every time!

First of 5 packages! I can hardly wait – Christmas every time!

I am an explorer in Clara Parkes the Great White Bale.  The sample fibre arrived last week, complete with papers and a project bag!

The sample fibre is so soft, even with the farmyard still in the wool.  It is amazing how much plant matter is left, even after the cleaning process!  Most of the remaining plant matter will be removed during the carding process before spinning.

White clouds of fibre!

White clouds of fibre!

The first batch of yarn will be here soon.  This first hank was spun with a “Mule Spinner“.  And will come complete with nepps (sort of little lumps) and be just like a bouncy, springy baby.  First baby, first of a four……Superfine Saxon Merino – spun many ways, dyed and undyed – yarn to design with, projects to paint.  Nope, this is not the year to find a new obsession.

Emily – my friend, boss, owner of Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns – has gone on quite a yarn buying spree.  New yarns, new fibre blends and so much new to play with.  Now why would I ever want a new obsession when the old one still has so much to offer!

Stash enhancement is at an all time high!  Bring it on!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

Painting this weelend!?....

Painting this weelend!?….

 

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Design - Inspiration, Great While Bale, Learning, Painting with dyes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Miles to Knit

  1. Ria Gibson says:

    You need to give that lovely white cloud with all the plant bits to someone who has both spinning and knitting obsessions. It would clearly be wasted in the stash of one who “only” knits. Just saying.

    I stopped myself from joining the Great White Bale as I had waaaay tooo many fleeces in the stash. Enjoy fondling!!! The superfine Merino is like cashmere. Yummy!!
    Ria
    P.S. Maybe a spinner would spin it for you.

Leave a Reply

