STASH

Tosh Merino Light - Margaux colourway.

Tosh Merino Light – Margaux colourway.

Stash – for knitters – this is the collection of yarns that the stashee has fallen in love with and stashed for a future project.  For some this becomes a SABLE – Stash above and beyond life expectancy.

Dorothy, a friend and co-worker, and I were discussing our “stashes” yesterday.  Dorothy was expressing concern that perhaps her stash was getting out of hand.  Dorothy had found a half knit project from last fall that she had completely forgotton about!

Deep, dark, purple Tweed!

Deep, dark, purple Tweed!

I was quick to assure her that it really wasn’t a problem – after all – giving where we worked – we did very well to stay as focused as we did on our current projects – try envisioning a chocoholic working in a chocolate house – that is us!  And Emily had been particularly good this last year at bringing in luscious yarns, in amazing colours – how could we not continue in the stash enhancement process!  Last week had been particularly difficult.  A bag of stunning purple Donegal Tweed come home as did four luscious hanks of Tosh Merino Light in the Margaux colourway!  Another weak moment!

Beautiful little sideboard.  This was delivered yesterday.  It has been in a basement and needed a little cleaning, Murphy's oil soap, followed by an application of English Oil and it looks fabulous.  Holding the dings and scratches of a lilfe well lived.

Beautiful little sideboard. This was delivered yesterday. It has been in a basement and needed a little cleaning, Murphy’s oil soap, followed by an application of English Oil and it looks fabulous. Holding the dings and scratches of a life well lived.

As I was telling her this I was also envisioning where I was going to put the new piece of furniture (new to me), that I had just bought for my stash management.  Last week was not unusual for me…… Management was!  A stash is a collection.  I am a collector.  Collections need management.  I still collect books, and over the years I have collected antiques of all kinds – furniture, glass, china, jewellery and stuff!  Now I just collect yarn and books.  Perfectly reasonable.

My new piece of furniture is a small sideboard / china cabinet.  It is designed in the Art Deco style, most likely made in the 1920’s.  It is made of solid wood, maple I think.  The drawers are dovetailed with the original wood drawer pulls.   The side board was constructed in two pieces.  I bet originally you could buy one and add the other later.  Very well designed.

Pretty Spring flowers

Pretty Spring flowers

It fits beautifully at the top of the stairs and I have already filled the top with the small bits that I have collected over the years.  The bottom is waiting for this weekend, when I will attempt to slightly organize my projects and stash so that the most current projects and the next in line are all there!

Fibre junkies are as addicted to the feel, look and smell of the fibre – as any other type of junkie is to their fix.  Our addiction is generally more productive! LOL!!

We create gifts for many, knit for ourselves, relieve the stress of the everyday and generally mellow out as we play with our collections.

Happy Stash Enhancement and Collecting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

I am an independent knitting pattern designer. My favourite things to design are accessories. Hats, Cowls, Mittens, Gloves, all styles and many weights! Designing anything with lace is my passion. Combining lace with other textures is usually my goal, to add interest and depth to the articles created. Blog - Of Larks and Linnets and Flying Fingers. Facebook - LeTissier Designs Instagram - letissierdesigns I work primarily with natural fibres and love to embellish my patterns. I work to create interesting surface textures with differing stitch patterns and often embellish with beads or buttons. I have designed for Buffalo Wool Co, Vogue Knitting, Zealana, Malabrigo and others. But mostly I design for myself and my LYS. I have worked full time at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns for over 20 years and started my design process as a method of creating patterns that featured teachable knitting techniques. Everything has grown from those patterns.
This entry was posted in knitting, play and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment