Betwixt and Between

 

Dogwood in full bloom

Dogwood in full bloom

That was our walk today.  Betwixt and between the rain showers.

Layers of Rhododendrons along the drive

Layers of Rhododendrons along the drive

Today, we walked through Bowen Park and the Hailey Rhododendron Grove.  I hadn’t been there in a few weeks and really wanted to see how close the Grove was to flowering!  It is in bloom.  Or really just starting to be in bloom….There are still many plants in bud.  Three hundred and fifty varieties of Rhododendron and Azalea, all colours and sizes, incredible.

Salmon berries - first berries to ripen - blooming and fruits forming at the same time.

Salmon berries – first berries to ripen – blooming and fruits forming at the same time.

Companion plantings include, Camellia, Dogwood, Trillium, Curly Lilies and a few others that I didn’t recognize.  It was beautiful today.

I was amazed by the Trilliums and Curly Lilies in Bowen today.  I had never noted them before!  The trilliums in full bloom, showing up the banks beside us as we walked by the River and hiding under the greenery until the angles were just right!  Curly Lilies lined the path at points and were mixed in here and there with other tiny wildflowers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Quietly flowing, banks reamerging from the waters.

Quietly flowing, banks reamerging from the waters.

The River itself is flowing more quietly and is no longer overflowing the banks that bind it.  The water still fills past the rocks, but you can see the shapes of the rocks below the flow.  There is no ROAR of sound now and birdsong is the predominant noise.

Perfect curly lily emerging from the new greenery that surronds it.

Perfect curly lily emerging from the new greenery that surronds it.

There were many photographers in Bowen Park this morning, enjoying the views.  A local club was partaking of the views and they – the views – were many.

My garden does not fare so well.  I have a few new plants to place in the ground and tomorrow I am going Tree Shopping with a friend.  Rebuilding a garden from scratch, with a limited budget is a slow process.

The neighbours tranparent apple tree is just starting to bloom.

The neighbours tranparent apple tree is just starting to bloom.

Some things are coming together.  IMG_3693The lilacs are starting to bloom and are full of flowers; the honeysuckle should have a banner year for blooms and it is really starting to spread down the fence.

The Lilacs are just starting.

The Lilacs are just starting.

The Hostas that we were given last year are coming up beautifully.  This year I want to add ferns to their beds.  I have one new Rhododendron – just planted today; and I am looking at getting a few more.  Maybe some heather plants for under my new, as yet, unknown trees.

My new rhododendron - planted inside the trunk of the old cedar tree. It should be a beautiful soft pink when it blooms.

My new rhododendron – planted inside the trunk of the old cedar tree. It should be a beautiful soft pink when it blooms.

Planning is a fun part of the process, but I want an instant garden.  No such garden exists, especially when the criteria is; everything must be perennial, must flower or have interesting foliage.  It takes time to create that type of garden!  Years even!  Patience!IMG_3699

In the meantime I enjoy the local parks and gardens that Nanaimo has to offer.  There are many.

Happy Walking and Gardening

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Betwixt and Between

  1. Pat says:

    A very beautiful post. Michigan is getting a very slow start on spring and I look forward to all of these bloomers. I do understand loving to plant but then not having the patience for the plants to mature.

Leave a Reply

