Wildflowers at Pipers

Morning from the top of the bluff at Piper's Lagoon!

Morning from the top of the bluff at Piper’s Lagoon!

Buttercups and Purple Starflowers underneath the Oaks at Piper's Lagoon.

Buttercups and Purple Starflowers underneath the Oaks at Piper’s Lagoon.

Buttercups and white  rock flowers and swaths of “Purple Stars“!  These are what I found a Piper’s Lagoon on Sunday morning.

Sunday morning was a gift, an unexpected pleasure as we woke to clear skies and glorious sunshine.  It was supposed to be raining!  As the day progressed the skies darkened and the clouds thickened but the rain never really arrived.  It was good day.

Sophie hiding in the grass.

Sophie hiding in the grass.

We walked Sophie at Piper’s Sunday morning.  Starting tomorrow she won’t be allowed on any of the local beaches, because of a City Bylaw, and she does love the beach.

Tiny White flowers gleaming in the sun and gnarled grey Gary Oak trunk.

Tiny White flowers gleaming in the sun and gnarled grey Gary Oak trunk.

The sea grasses are all greening and growing, bushes and trees are budding and the flowers on the point!….. Gorgeous!

Every nook and cranny along the rock face was growing something; grass, succulent or flower.  The flower was a very pretty, glowing white bloom, about an inch across.  White clusters here and there against the rusty grey rock or twisted Oak trunk, beautiful.

Atop and around the bluff a treasure in flowers.

Atop and around the bluff a treasure in flowers.

What took my breath away were the purple stars.  These wildflowers were growing the long grasses, beside the buttercups.  Growing in the green grasses underneath the Gary Oaks and the dots of yellow and purple against the green grass; the intense colour contrasts, dappled by sun and shade – stunning.  I could not take enough pictures!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went on a road trip in the afternoon.  To Dinters Nursery just south of Duncan; a friend was helping me figure out what to do with the back yard.  I learned as much as I forgot.  Linda was a font of knowledge and as we drove we talked.  We stopped at several places en route to Dinters – just so that I could really see some of the options – my mind was swirling before we got to Dinters and I was swooning once there.

An Example of an Apple Tree grown Espelier style.

An Example of an Apple Tree grown Espelier style.

I did not buy anything except lunch!

A tiny bird amongst the Apple Blossoms next door.

A tiny bird amongst the Apple Blossoms next door.

The neighbours Apple tree has inspired me to try to grow apples of my own.  The bonus bird population will be appreciated as well!

While no purchases were made, I came away with many ideas and possible plans for the backyard – Espelier a fruit tree against the fence – an Apple tree for sure and maybe a Pear tree as well.  A few flowering shrubs and vines and a couple of slow-growing junipers perhaps.  I am starting slow. 485619_588606757824659_1364277034_n

The Nanaimo Wave Babes are having a plant sale this Saturday May 4th.  I have already bought some Hostas and a Succulent frame from them.  I have connections!

More stash Storage

More stash Storage

I couldn’t go to the plant sale this weekend (hence, the connections and the early purchase) as I will be up in Campbell River at the Fibre Festival!  I am really excited to be going and teaching! This is the first ever Vancouver Island Fibre Festival and I hope that it will be the first of many.

The rest of Sunday was devoted to family for Dinner and a little more tidying of the Stash and its environs!

After dinner was knitting and visiting.  Life is good.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, Gardening, Knitting community, Photography, play, Vancouver Island Fibre Festival and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

