Yarn Lust!……

Yarn Lust!

Yarn Lust!

……. Struck yesterday afternoon.

Great White Bale notebook for notetaking and observations, and yarn ready to knit!

Great White Bale notebook for notetaking and observations, and yarn ready to knit!

My package from Clara Yarns had arrived.  This is the first of the yarns from the Great White Bale and I had been anticipating this arrival all week!  Others had already received theirs.

As I opened the mailing envelope the smell of good yarn rose to greet my nose.  I was so anxious to shake out the hank of yarn that I almost missed the Great White Bale notebook as it tumbled from the wrapping to the floor!  Sophie was quick, but I was quicker – though she did get the paper the yarn had been wrapped in.

I shook out the first hank and buried my nose into the yarn and started mumbling about yarn lust and nepps as I inhaled deeply.  How soft the yarn was I hummed; as I petted and played.  I turned around to see my husband looking at me quizzically.  Had I spoken out loud?  I had.  Another moment of crazy wife syndrome.

Clara had suggested that the yarn be allowed to hang over night in the shower to release some of the kinks of travel in the steam in the morning – Sorry Clara – I wasn’t going to wait that long!

As I wound the yarn I was amazed by the loft and texture of the yarn.  This yarn could be compared to a heavy worsted by weight and yardage.  But it looks more like a heavy aran and the 4.2 oz skien was bigger than my winder could accommodate – I had to wind the last few yards by hand onto my ball.

The texture when knit is very spongy, soft and squishy, almost chenille like.  I am knitting with a yarn that has the texture of the  sheep right in the stitch, a Saxon Merino sheep.  A size 5.5mm needle was a recommendation, I am working with a 6.0mm as I am usually fairly tight.

I have worked with mule-spun yarns before, but never with anything like this.  This yarn is incredibly soft.  It has been made special as well – I got to see it being spun.  This is a very personal relationship!

Top-down Faroese - I have almost caught up to last nights knitting.

Top-down Faroese – I have almost caught up to last nights knitting.

I have decided to knit a top-down faroese style shawl.  It will be like wearing a hug.

Some of last night’s knitting had to come out this morning as I didn’t like the lace in the back panel.  The stitch definition is not clear enough for a complicated lace, so I went with a single panel of feather and fan for the back panel, the remainder of the shawl body will be in garter stitch and the edging, bottom of the shawl, will be all feather and fan.  I will knit until the first ball is done for the body and the second ball will be all edging.

The texture of the yarn does not lend itselft to really complicated stitchery, but the movement of the feather and fan should show well.

The texture of the yarn does not lend itselft to really complicated stitchery, but the movement of the feather and fan should show well.

When the knitting is done I plan on painting this with dyes – I can see the shading already in the feather and fan stitch.  I will be sad to lose the wonderful aroma, but I can’t wear natural and I want to wear this one often!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, Design - Execution, Great While Bale, knitting, play and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Lust!……

  1. Ria Gibson says:

    I am sooo Jealous! Glad that someone I know did the Great White Bale. I was so tempted. Good for you.
    Ria

  2. Ria Gibson says:

    P.S
    Its looks so incredilbe!
    R

Leave a Reply

