How much……

Saturday morning, 8:00 am, Campbell River

Saturday morning, 8:00 am, Campbell River

IMG_4058……. Can one weekend hold?

Not only was the most beautiful May weekend ever, think summer weather with clear blue skies and warm temperatures.  It may have been the busiest weekend ever for me!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The weekend was Bookended by a wonderful mix of all kinds of fibre goodness; not only knitting and teaching; there was an incredible array of items created by some very talented artists available for viewing!  Demonstrations, Show and Tells and more than a few “Show me’s!”

Where was I?  At the first ever Vancouver Island Fibre Fest, held in Campbell River!  I was there the Friday evening and Saturday morning and back again for Sunday.  The attendance wasn’t huge, but it was good enough that it has already been decided that it will be held again next year – I can hardly wait!

The organizers of the Festival, Shelley Mackie, (you may recognize Shelley’s name – formerly of Fun Knits on Quadra Island – Shelley has organized more that a few retreats there) and Judy Ridgeway decided in January that the Island needed the festival and went to work contacting the people necessary to create a festival.

Create they did!

Every square a memory.  Each square was from a piece of clothing made by the quilters mother for her and her siblings - Priceless memories.

Every square a memory. Each square was from a piece of clothing made by the quilters mother for her and her siblings – Priceless memories.

The festival was a fund-raiser for the Special Needs program at the Community Center.  The Students of the program participated in the Show and Tell and were a big part of the weekend.  Food was prepared and provided by the special needs students themselves for both the Friday evening show and tell and the cafeteria lunch and snacks – everything was by donation and the students did a great job!

The venue was great.  The Campbell River Community Center has great rooms for classes, large and bright.  There were two halls, one for the Vendors, and one for the demonstrations, including the “show and tell” the first night, the spin-in on Sunday and just for hanging around.

I was teaching on the Sunday but I went with a friend for the “Show and Tell” on the Friday.  What an incredible array of talent!

Every facet of the Fibre Arts was represented.  Sewing by the Special needs students; Quilting, traditional hand sewn and machine quilting; Weaving, dimensional and flat; Hand-spinning; Crochet and Knitting.  There were some absolutely incredible pieces to see and some wonderful stories were told.  The show and tell allowed people to share their thoughts and experiences about what was created!  The Show and Tells were then displayed in a gallery on Saturday where they could be examined up close.  When on the stage most of the artists spoke and moved to fast!  LOL!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Classes were as diverse as the Show and Tells.

The classes included, knitting, weaving, applique, quilting,  and sewing.  You could learn to grow and work with Japanese Indigo, Weave Baskets, Spin Bast type fibres or Knit lace; work with beads, or fingerweave.  There was something for everyone.

As a teacher the festival was a little disappointing – I only had one student.  Donna was a very good student and we had a wonderful time getting to know each other.  My other student got pulled away at the last-minute and could not attend.

Shelley graciously allowed me to use her knitting and I turned the afternoon portion of the class into a demonstration.  This went very well!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shelley wanted a Christmas inspired theme for her scarf – so we went for Poinsettia and Holly and kept the white background of the Louet Gems wool.  I am really looking forward to seeing this after the dyes are set.

I have learned a great deal this weekend and look forward to next year when I can try out some of my new ideas!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in knitting, Painting with dyes, Teaching, Vancouver Island Fibre Festival and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How much……

  1. Dorothy says:

    The Christmas scarf is gorgeous. I saw its starting brush strokes.
    Dorothy

  2. Pingback: Fibre Fest Bound | Le Tissier Designs

Leave a Reply

