Crystalline

 

Slowing drying!

Slowing drying!

 

Back Detail.

Back Detail.

Yesterday I painted Crystalline.  It is taking longer to dry than expected and is still on the floor downstairs.  It is quite cool right now and there is no heat downstairs – so longer should be expected!

It was good thing that I did as today does not look like it is going to be as nice as it was supposed to be!  Yesterday was a gorgeous day – start to finish.

Painting Crystalline took longer that I expected.  Especially as I was only working on highlighting the lace and not painting the whole.  I guess that there were more highlights than expected.  Crystalline is in every way – more than expected.

Painting at about halfway.

Painting at about halfway.

More highlights; more time – painting crystalline took almost four hours!; bigger than expected; longer to dry than expected – just more than expected at all points!

Blocked Crystalline is almost 36 inches deep in the back – each arm is 29 inches wide and each arm is 44 inches from the center back.  I must really believe that I am several inches taller than I really am!

IMG_7723There was a real wind blowing while I set up the painting surface.  I needed rocks and stuff placed strategically so that the Styrofoam and plastic wrap wouldn’t blow away!  Many pins were used as well!  The wind did settle down and the painting went along just fine!

This time I got the amount of charcoal just right!  It works great along the edges and highlighting the feathery arms.  I am not so happy about the rose center.  It spread more than I wanted – another factor of time management that I could not escape.  On the whole I am quite happy with the finish.  I can hardly wait for it to be dry.  Hopefully by tomorrow – today looks like another cool day.  It is clouding over right now.  Sigh!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Execution, Learning, Painting with dyes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crystalline

  1. Magdalen says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful!

  2. Anne M says:

    Stunning – would love to give it a try. Where can I get patter, directions?

  3. Mary B says:

    Love this shawl. Will this be the project for your summer painted lace class this year or is it a different project? I am considering joining you again this year as I enjoyed your last years class very much. (also an excuse to spend a weekend or two on the island)

    Mary Just trust yourself, then you will know how to live – Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

    Date: Mon, 20 May 2013 16:34:03 +0000 To: artistmaybe@live.ca

    • Good morning Mary,

      The shawl is beautiful, but it is not the project for the class. It is just too big!
      The class project is still under construction and will be a celtic themed shoulderette that can double as a hooded scarf – I think that you will like it!

      Lynette

  4. Karen says:

    Lynette
    All I see is something beautiful. I stand in awe of your talent! Karen

Leave a Reply

