Chihuly III

Walking on the wild side of colour!

Walking on the wild side of colour!

Four small hanks of hand-dyed yarn from Blueridge yarns - gloves I think.

Four small hanks of hand-dyed yarn from Blueridge yarns – gloves I think.

Saturday afternoon was a real eye opener!  I was sitting and knitting, relaxing on the back deck when I heard this deep humming and beside my head was a tiny green and grey hummingbird.  She darted to the feeder and helped herself.  The whole time this was happening I watched and marvelled at how those wings – almost invisible wings – they were moving so fast – could work so hard.

Up close and personal time with a hummingbird!

Up close and personal time with a hummingbird!

After she had drunk her fill the hummingbird moved to hover in front of my face – I think I was getting told off for being so rude and staring!  I stared some more – I had never been so close to a hummingbird before – she left after a good long stare.

Since then I have seen her several times darting between the feeder and the honeysuckle vine.

Sunday morning got off to a wonderful start…. As I was making my tea, standing over the kitchen sink and warming my tea-pot, a hummingbird darted up to the feeder, helped herself and zoomed off.  Those tiny birds have only one speed – fast!

Gorgeous reflections off Lost Lake.

Gorgeous reflections off Lost Lake.

Sunday was a real family day.  Father’s Day and my Father, Uncle Don and Marguerite and my son and his partner were coming for dinner.

Dinner was Roast Beef and Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and mixed roast vegetables and I had better have gravy – there could be mutiny if there was no gravy.  The best part though was dessert – I made strawberry-rhubarb upside down cake, with rhubarb sauce and whipping cream – and the rhubarb was from the garden.  The first time in years that we could harvest any stalks!  We have had rhubarb here since we moved in 17 years ago.  It gradually died back, the stalks and leaves got smaller and smaller every year.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Success!

Rhubarb and Strawberry Success!

This year my husband decided to take action, feeding and caring for the rhubarb like never before.  It worked!  We have rhubarb!

Beth's Gift all wound up.

Beth’s Gift all wound up.

Guests for dinner – well sort of guests – I took this as a reason to clean the house and bathroom, put things away – oh and wind some yarn as well.  The house looks much tidier and the yarn looks oh so beckoning, all wound and ready to Knit.

In between all of the activity, cooking and cleaning etc. we managed to fit in a walk at Lost Lake Park.  It was gorgeous.  The lake was still – the water lilies were in bloom and the Bullfrogs were in great voice.  Their booming sound seemed to echo around the lake.  So much sound from such small throats!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The colours all sing in harmony.

The colours all sing in harmony.

The Celtic Fichu is almost complete and will be finished tomorrow or Wednesday – looks like I may be painting next weekend!

This next gallery room from Chihuly is the Mille Fiori room.  I could not stop with the camera, every step every turn was a new form, colour or texture.  The floor reflected a different view back to me and the colours sang as they moved from shape to shape.  I hope that you enjoy!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Inspiration, Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

