Synthesis

Roses and Rain - a synthesis of objects to create an impressive whole.

Roses and Rain – a synthesis of objects to create an impressive whole.

Definition of SYNTHESIS

Tiny wildflowers glow against the greenery that surronds them.

Tiny wildflowers glow against the greenery that surrounds them.

Buttercups in Horsetail.

Buttercups in Horsetail.

1

a   : the composition or combination of parts or elements so as to form a whole  b   : the production of a substance by the union of chemical elements, groups, or simpler compounds or by the degradation of a complex compound  c   : the combining of often diverse conceptions into a coherent whole; also   : the complex so formed

2

a   : deductive reasoning  b   : the dialectic combination of thesis and antithesis into a higher stage of truth

Celtic Fichu - finished and ready to paint.

Celtic Fichu – finished and ready to paint.

Two many lives to lead, not enough time”  – too many projects to knit, but one more is done – “Another one bites the dust, and another one’s gone and another one’s gone, another one bites the dust!”

Quite often as I sit knitting bits and pieces of song drift through my head.  The above lyrics kept repeating this last weekend as I finished Celtic Fichu and added two more projects to the ever-growing list!

Fichu from the metmuseum.org

Fichu from the metmuseum.org

I was asked lately what my style of design was; how was I influenced and what would I call what I do.

The knitting is pretty clear – I am influenced by historic garments and traditional lace motifs – but I put them into a modern esthetic.

How beautiful is something as simple and unique as a forest fungus.  They grow from downed trees and have their own beauty.  Delicate as a breeze and every stripe unique.

How beautiful is something as simple and unique as a forest fungus. They grow from downed trees and have their own beauty. Delicate as a breeze and every stripe unique.

The painting of my knitting is simply a fascination with the finishing.  It allows me to draw attention to the details that I want to highlight and add the colours that I deem best.  It seems that I am a bit of a control freak – I want to create my own canvas in the knitting and then make that knitting reflect my influences and tastes as they come together at that moment.

The synthesis of the two forms of creativity make something unique, something that is ever-changing as I change and as my influences shift and drift.

The world around us creates in much the same way.

The Celtic Fichu is now ready for painting – the finishing step.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chihuly Chevrons now under construction.

Chihuly Chevrons now under construction.

Next in line is are a pair of gloves, knit with Blue Ridge Yarns Footlights.  This yarn comes packaged in 4, 100 yd, hand-dyed skeins of deep colour.  I am working with the “Pansy” colourway.

I think that this pattern will work well for left over bits of sock yarn or any small amounts of colourful 4-plys.

IMG_7891

Woodlands

Woodlands

For Christmas my son gave me a beautiful brooch.  I have a large collection of brooches, something to do with having a large collection of shawls I think!  LOL!!  I, quite simply have no shawl that does it justice so this last week I brought the brooch into work and found a yarn in a colourway that will show it off.

Rowan Fine Art Sock yarn in the Lapwing colourway won.  While playing with the yarn I noticed that the yarn would work for pooling.  I am going to knit a pooling shawl, using  a few different leaf lace patterns.  The colours say woodlands and forest to me.

Happy Creating

Lynette

Something new is always growing up towards the light.

Something new is always growing up towards the light.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Inspiration, knitting, Life, Painting with dyes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Synthesis

  1. Ria Gibson says:

    Love the Celtic fichu. What yarn did you use for it, when will the pattern be available?

  2. Pingback: Think Cool – Think Sorbet | Le Tissier Designs

Leave a Reply

