Chihuly Gardens – A Blast of Colour and Texture

My Favorite view at the Chihuly Glass Gardens!  Pansys, Ferns and weathered wood.  To m ethe perfect combination of elements and colours.  Notice the purple spires, fabulous!

My Favorite view at the Chihuly Glass Gardens! Pansy, Ferns and weathered wood. To m ethe perfect combination of elements and colours. Notice the purple spires, fabulous!

I see a Chihuly Persian shawl in these colours of ArtYarns Silk Essence!  Can't you?

I see a Chihuly Persian shawl in these colours of ArtYarns Silk Essence! Can’t you?

The next exhibit is the Glass House that Dale Chihuly helped to design.  Chihuly has always been fascinated by glass houses and this house with it’s slightly off kilter designs is the perfect room for his immense chandelier.  The pieces are all of the Persian variety in truly intense yellow and oranges.

Through the far end of the glass house we can see the yellow glass “tree” in the garden, centered perfectly to the end of the house.

We have some Artyarns Silk Essence at Mad About Ewe that are the exact colours of this installation.  I keep seeing a shawl in them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is quite safe to say that the Gardens at the Chihuly Exhibit were my favorite amongst all of the exhibit rooms.  The combination of glass amongst the greenery and texture of the plants was amazing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The yellow glass "tree" centered to the glass house.

The yellow glass “tree” centered to the glass house.

The Chandelier walkway was the finishing touch to the exhibit.  We went back to re-examine it.  As we walked out of the buildings and into the gardens we were stopped by the long line of glass chandelier hangings that would take us back into the gardens, each was unique, but I favoured the mixed amber and vivid green ones over the others.

These are the last of the pictures of the Chihuly Garden and Glass Exhibit.  I will make a few of them into pictures for my walls and revisit them on-line from time to time.

I want some Sea Holly for my garden.

I want some Sea Holly for my garden.

I would love to come back several times over the next few years.  Watch the plantings grow and develop around the glass, see the gardens with a light snow covering everything.  I want to see the gardens of glass glowing in the sunshine or illuminated by night lighting.  This garden would be different every time it was visited!

I am now examining my back garden, still under development, with a new eye.  What can I add to it to create a more vibrant living space.  The modern trend of gardens being more than plantings echo’s of the past where grand estates and gardens all had themes.  We don’t have grand estates, well, most of us don’t, but we are all looking to make more of our outdoor spaces.  We want to extend our living spaces out into the yard, to better enjoy the world around our personal spaces.

Glass blooming in the garden.

Glass blooming in the garden.

The Sheer size of some of the sculptures was amazing.

The Sheer size of some of the sculptures was amazing.

Just about every morning now, I make my tea by the kitchen window and watch for the hummingbirds – most morning I see one or two at the feeder.  They fascinate me.  They are a joy to watch as they hover and then flit away – and short minutes later are back again.

This last week there has not been much opportunity here to enjoy the yard.  It has been grey and pouring for most of the week.  Though when the sun does break through there are Rainbows and then they fade as the sun is once again enveloped by the clouds.  Usually I am at work when the sun does show.  Such is June on Vancouver Island.

Happy Viewing

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Design - Inspiration, Gardening, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chihuly Gardens – A Blast of Colour and Texture

  1. knotrune says:

    Chihuly goes so well in gardens, contrasting the glass with the plants. I saw him exhibit in Kew Gardens and it was amazing, I took over 500 photos! I love those purple spikes, they remind me of giant crocus buds. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • I know the feeling – I took over 400 photo’s. So much sensory input I did not know where to look first. I wish that there had been some water gardens in Seattle that was the only thing missing! I am very glad that you enjoyed the pictures1

      Lynette

Leave a Reply

