Think Cool – Think Sorbet

Looking wonderfully cool out on the Straight

Looking wonderfully cool out on the Straight

Sticking to the shady paths - most of the time

Sticking to the shady paths – most of the time

We are having a scorcher of a day – West Coast style!  A high of 17° on Friday, a high of 24° on Saturday and maybe even 30° today!  Our deck thermometer says about 40° right now.  But it is always higher than the temperature.  It is in the direct sun.  Our shady corner will be at least 10° cooler!

Hot flowers glowing in the sun.

Hot flowers glowing in the sun.

We walked at Neck Point this morning; walking on the shaded paths trying to avoid the sun.  Though it was cool on the beaches close to the water as there was a breeze coming off the Straight.  There was a regatta race out on the waters around the Five Finger Islands.  That would have been a “Cool” activity for a day like today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This almost looks cool.

This almost looks cool.

The Blues of the Straight and the Greens of the trees were cool in appearance, if not in fact.  The flowers all look “hot” in the direct sun.  It is a real Summer’s day!

Poor Sophie is having a hard time dealing with the heat.  She has been sleeping most of the day, shifting from spot to spot trying to find someplace cool.

I was going to bake cookies today.  Not now; instead I am making Rhubarb-Strawberry Sorbet.  I haven’t made it before, but it appears easy and so far tastes great.  I am waiting for it to get hard enough to beat up and then let it finish in the freezer.

It will be the perfect dessert for tonight’s dinner of Ribs, new potatoes and salads.

Left over Blue Faced Leicester 2/8

Left over Blue Faced Leicester 2/8

It is still relatively cool in the house.  By tomorrow it will have heated up and we will have the devil of a time staying cool.  I have been working on the Vogue project and planning other knitting projects for the Summer.

Holden shawlette

Holden shawlette

At Mad About Ewe we are having a Knit-a-Long – the Holden Shawlette.  I am going to knit mine in the left over Blue Faced Leicester 2/8 from Fleece Artist and then paint it – I can see it done in cool turquoise, blues and greens with flashes of hot pink.  I am going to finish off the each picot of the edge with some size 6/0 silver beads.

Gorgeous silver beads to cap off each picot.

Gorgeous silver beads to cap off each picot.

I can hardly wait to see it finished.  The Celtic Fichu feels so nice I think that I want a small shawl to wear as well.

I have also started the Fall class projects.  The first of which are the Chihuly Chevron gloves.  These fun gloves can be knit with or without fingers and are designed to use up lots of little bits of left-over 4-plys!  I am knitting them with the new Blue Ridge Yarn Footlights!

Palm view of the gloves, just  the fingers left.

Palm view of the gloves, just the fingers left.

Keep Cool and Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Design - Execution, knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

