Sophie Loves Koigu…..

A hank of Koigu after Sophie was finished with it!

A hank of Koigu after Sophie was finished with it!

….. And I am not impressed!

It has been very hot around here.  A lot of doors and windows are open to the breeze, any breeze, in an attempt to keep the house cool.  It has been so hot that Sophie hasn’t had much energy during the day.  Sunday evening at bedtime Sophie perked up and started exploring area’s that are normally not available to her.  She has found a few treasures – my treasures!

Sophie looking cute a few days ago!

Sophie looking cute a few days ago!

Needless to say that door has been closed; how can such a cute dog wreck so much havoc!

Its cooler under the trees!

Its cooler under the trees!

Because of the heat our walks have been short and under the trees where it is a little cooler than other places.  Monday we went to Stephenson Point Park.  I did not take many pictures, just a few of some wildflowers.

A beautiful rose from a much abused plant!

A beautiful rose from a much abused plant!

We have been spending a lot of time in the backyard, in the coolest corner, where the sun shines only very briefly in the early evening.

Our backyard is starting to look pretty good.  This years efforts are paying off and the new plants are all thriving, despite Sophie’s’ “help”!

There is still a lot of work to do and a lot of garden left to plant, but I am happy with the current look.

One of this years new plants, a small willowy Japanese Maple.

One of this years new plants, a small willowy Japanese Maple.

The Rose Bush that Sophie had pulled out of the pot last year, dragged around the yard and chewed up, has surprised me.  The Rose Bush that had been left out in the pot last Winter to drown in water, to freeze and thaw as the Winter progressed, because I thought that it was dead, has stunned me.

This Spring when it showed a few leaves I decided to try a rescue.  I carefully planted it in the garden and put a cage around it to discourage Sophie from helping.

I watched as it leafed out and started to grow.  Then it started budding and blooming.  I am so thrilled and amazed!  This is one hardy Rose Bush!

Pretty blooms

Pretty blooms

Yesterday's mornings work on the Holden Shawlette.

Yesterday’s mornings work on the Holden Shawlette.

I have started the Holden Shawlette and made a few modifications.  My needle size is 3.75mm.  Every needle I picked up was a 3.75mm – this was a sign!  Either my house needed tidying or that the world wanted me to knit the shawlette with the 3.75mm.  I went with the world’s opinion!

Lavender and Geraniums in the Garden

Lavender and Geraniums in the Garden

I also made the center line a two stitch garter detail – I just like a heavier demarcation between the two halves and I added one stitch to each end garter edge, again I like that slightly heavier look of the edges.  I think that it helps to define the shape.

Wild Foxgloves from Stephenson Point.

Wild Foxgloves from Stephenson Point.

This morning there is a wonderful breeze and I am really appreciating the cool.

I hope that you have a wonderful, cool, day.

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Gardening, knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

