Obsession

A fiery red Dragonfly resting on the Camellia outside the bedroom window.

A fiery red Dragonfly resting on the Camellia outside the bedroom window.

Lot 2 of Clara Parke's Great White Bale.  One hank au natural and the other Madder Dyed.

Lot 2 of Clara Parke’s Great White Bale. One hank au natural and the other Madder Dyed.

What is your obsession?  Do you have an obsession?

I believe that we all have obsessions.  Be it  sports, exercise, quilting, cooking, or any activity that we participate in and feel strongly about.

A Sports obsession is a little more unique; while a sport is participated in; a Sports obsession is more often an armchair activity, and can engender great feeling in those that are fans.  My husband has been known to swear and throw things!  LOL!!

My obsession is yarn and all the beautiful variations within!  I know that you are shocked – I have kept my obsession well hidden!  LOL!

A madder Dye chart

A madder Dye chart

Geraniums - this red is a gorgeous shade.

Geraniums – this red is a gorgeous shade.

These last 6 months have been so exciting on the yarn front.  I have had opportunities to play with some of the most exciting and gorgeous yarns out there.  After more than twelve of years of working in a yarn store and all of the yarns we have seen…. and carried…. it still amazes me as too how much more there is to be touched and played with!

The Roses of Summer

The Roses of Summer

Last week I received two lots of yarn.  The second installment of the Great White Bale; and some more yarns from The Buffalo Wool Company.

Projects like the Chihuly Chevron Gloves that need to be finished.

Projects like the Chihuly Chevron Gloves that need to be finished.

Clara’s yarn – the Saxon merino – has to be on hold just for a short while, as I have some patterns and samples that need to be taken care of.

Lot 2 is a DK weight, still woolen spun, with all of the merino’s great softness and gorgeous hand.  One hank is au natural and the other has been hand-dyed.  Kristine Vejar of A Verb for Keeping Warm, dyed the other hank with Madder.  I have approx. 600 yds of gorgeousness to plan for!

Our first collaboration - Yippe Ki Yi Yea.

Our first collaboration – Yippie Ki Yi Yea.

The Buffalo Wool Company’s owner/operators, Ron and Theresa Miskin, and I are going to be working together to create some more patterns for their wonderful yarns.  I was so thrilled with the Buffalo Gold and the gorgeous results from my efforts that I really welcomed the chance to work with more of this unique fibre.

Light weight and strong, with a wonderful hand – Bison fibre gives some serious payback for your efforts.

There is going to be a pair of  Chihuly gloves, a fingerless version, in two colours of their Half-Tracks Sock yarn.  I have some beaded gauntlets in mind, and then there is this shawl idea……

Buffalo Gold and the Black Gold twined together - you can see the gold glinting in the fibre!

Buffalo Gold and the Black Gold twined together – you can see the gold glinting in the fibre!

One of the hanks of yarn that the Buffalo Wool Company sent was some Black Gold.  This is the Buffalo Gold dyed black.  The hank they sent was one of the irregulars; it just wasn’t good enough for sale.  Ron and Theresa have high standards, this irregular yarn is still gorgeous, but the gold just wasn’t as even as in the original hanks!

The Buffalo Gold yarns have a story….. That will be for another day!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in blogging, Buffalo Gold Project, Great While Bale, knitting, Learning, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

