Holy Fibre – Merino and Silk!

Looking out into the Straight!

Looking out into the Straight!

Beautiful moon the first night, but not an exciting sunset!

Beautiful moon the first night, but not an exciting sunset!

Last weekend we spent a day, plus a little more on Gabriola Island, visiting with friends.  Like always, visiting Gabriola seems like going far, far away; even when it is just a short ferry ride.
It was a little grey to begin with – there was no sunset at Lighthouse point the first night, but the sunset the second night more than made up for it!  We love to spend a weekend at Gabriola, we laze around, take leisurely walks, and drink a little wine, nap and in all ways relax.

Heron in the morning fishing at low tide.

Heron in the morning fishing at low tide.

The Saturday was gorgeous.  It started with a walk and a Heron sighting; followed by a visit to an Artisan’s Market that was bigger than average because it was the weekend of the Gabriola Theatre Festival.

Gorgeous Glass beads

Gorgeous Glass beads

I found the most gorgeous glass beads at the market.  The Designer, Amanda Craigmyle, calls these her “Orphans”.  Amanda explained that as she usually likes to create “pairs”, it may take several tries to get two to match as closely as she likes!  I love them.  Now to find ways to use them in my knitting.

After lunch we went for another leisurely walk around the point of the peninsula.  The sun had come out and there was a brisk wind and it was gorgeous!  Gabriola Islands sits on sandstone.  Over the years the Sandstone has been carved out and shaped by wind and water.  One of the interesting things is the shapes left behind.  Round, hard stones, that rise and sit on the Sandstone.  Love the way nature works to create beauty all around us!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Three of the Five!

Three of the Five!

Later there was a family of raccoons in the yard next too us.  They are so gorgeous – I just had to take some pictures.

Dinner – and then a far less leisurely walk to the best place on the peninsula to see the sunset!  We were running late, a little too much leisure!  We were told that we missed the best of the sunset – but I thought that it was still spectacular!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Celtic Fichu

Celtic Fichu

It has been a busy week, and it will be a busy weekend; the summer is disappearing fast!

Celtic Fichu has been released on Ravelry and I will get it up on Patternfish tomorrow.  Tonight I will string beads for the Turtle Flower Gauntlets and start those again.  I have a ferry ride on Sunday – a great time to get some solid knitting in!

Last night I was BAAAD!  I had to – I just had too!  I have been looking at it for so long.

Looking great on Arrival!

Looking great on Arrival!

I picked up Lot #3 from the Great White Bale, wound it and started to knit.  Ohh! it is like knitting with velvet!  This is a worsted spun, merino/silk blend hand dyed by Jennifer Heverly of Spirit Trail Fiberworks.  Clara and Jennifer blended 5 dye colours to get the resulting gorgeous colourway.  Incredible.

I am so bad!  It is like working with silk velvet!

I am so bad! It is like working with silk velvet!

The yarn is roughly a 4-ply weight.  I am working with a 4.5mm needles to get as much out of the yarn as possible.  The loft is incredible and it doesn’t feel too loose for being knit with such a large needle!

I am creating the pattern as I go.  It will be interesting to see how it develops!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, Design - Creation, Family, Great While Bale, knitting, pattern, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Fibre – Merino and Silk!

  1. Ria Gibson says:

    You always post the most amazing photos of our West Coast. Thank you.
    Off to buy Celtic Fichu. I must have something in my stash for it.

Leave a Reply

