Walking to the Falls

Hints of Fall in the canopy of leaves above us!

Hints of Fall in the canopy of leaves above us!

Still water behind the trees at the edge of the River.

Still water behind the trees at the edge of the River.

Yesterday we drove up-island to Campbell River.

A fallen giant's root ball is home to a whole new eco-system.

A fallen giant’s root ball is home to a whole new eco-system.

My daughter Beth is the new Curator of the Campbell River Museum – since January this year – I am so proud.  I had never even been to the Museum.  I had been up to Campbell River to see her and teach at the FibreFest, But I had never made it to the Museum.

Moose Falls

Moose Falls

The drive up-island was made in a heavy marine fog.  The fog made the drive a little ghostly as the normal landmarks were hidden.  Sometimes the fog would lighten and brighten and we would think that the day would clear.  Not to be!  The fog stretched from Nanaimo to north of Campbell River and it didn’t start to lift until we were about to leave!

Deer Falls

Deer Falls

The Campbell River Museum is a wonderful local museum with several interesting exhibits.

  • Have you ever heard about the Ripple Rock Removal?  I hadn’t!  This was a really big undertaking and explosion and still hasn’t been matched, even by modern constructions!
  • The Native Masks and artifacts are incredible.  The museum has strong ties to the local first nations populations and this is reflected in the exhibits!
  • There is a wonderful exhibition of photographs from the Sayward or Bloedel Fire of 1938 – incredible.
Elk Falls

Elk Falls

After the museum we went and walked through Elk Falls park.  We did the loop that extends from Moose Falls, past Deer Falls and then ending in Elk Falls.  A glorious display of moving water – rushing through narrow channels, meandering around beautiful pools and finally down an amazing drop.

A beautiful pool of quiet water before the second falls.

A beautiful pool of quiet water before the second falls.

The path we took went leisurely down to the first – Moose Falls.  And then took a more level route to the next falls.  We passed by a pool that looked perfect for a swim – but not on this trip!  There were small side streams that fed into the river as we walked past the main channel.  The channel grew ever narrower as we got closer to Elk Falls.

Roaring water heading over Elk Falls!

Roaring water heading over Elk Falls!

Elk Falls took my breath away.  It was something to hear and see; foaming, roaring and dancing over the edge of the surrounding rocks.

The lighter canopy at the end of the walk!

The lighter canopy at the end of the walk!

I wished that I had been able to see it before the Campbell River was dammed in 1948.  The pictures of the flow are said to fill the hole that you can see in my picture.  Can you imagine the roar and rush of the water!

As we left the park – the fog was finally lifting.  The leaves glowed against the blue skies – wonderful.

Happy Viewing

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

