It’s Raining

Even dappled with raindrops the wild roses are an aromatic feast at this time of year!

Even dappled with raindrops the wild roses are an aromatic feast at this time of year!

Leaves are natural water reservoirs for the small birds and animals!

Leaves are natural water reservoirs for the small birds and animals!

It is raining this morning…..It has been almost two weeks since the last time it rained.  It almost feels surreal.

I have been so busy writing patterns, knitting samples and fixing patterns lately that I haven’t taken the time to post any pictures of my walks – which are still happening every weekend – even with being busy!

Does anyone know what flower this is?  I saw it the Chase River Estuary last weekend.

Does anyone know what flower this is? I saw it the Chase River Estuary last weekend.

Today seemed like a great day to post some pictures of the wildflowers, birds and things that I have seen over the last 2 or 3 weeks.

The walks include; Piper’s Lagoon – the last time is rained, Hemer Park, Chase River Estuary and Morden Colliery Park.  I have noticed that the “Owl” artist has been busy.  There have been more sightings of the Owls at Hemer.

There were red-winged Blackbirds and song sparrows to be seen and heard everywhere we went.  We saw Herons and families of Canadian Geese at Piper’s Lagoon.

Families of Canadian Geese were all around Pipers.

Families of Canadian Geese were all around Pipers.

Red winged Blackbirds were singing their hearts out all over Hemer Marsh.

Red winged Blackbirds were singing their hearts out all over Hemer Marsh.

I love this time of year for the flowers.  There are so many and they all are beautiful – offering colour, scent and a visual feast of shapes and sizing.  From the smallest of the flowers on the grasses the amazing clusters of flowers on the Roses and Honeysuckles!

Monarch Butterflies are everywhere right now!

Monarch Butterflies are everywhere right now!

There are Monarch Butterflies everywhere I have been lately.  There were many at Chase River Estuary and Morden Colliery and even a few in my back yard as well.  They seem to be constantly dancing across the surface of every view right now.  Seldom landing or staying still long enough to be truly appreciated!

Intense and vivid the wild honeysuckle flowers are a shot of colour highly visible against the green of their surroundings.

Intense and vivid the wild honeysuckle flowers are a shot of colour highly visible against the green of their surroundings.

All of the flowers in the wild have inspired me to do a little work on my garden as well.  I have added and I am still adding more plants.

I took a road trip to Dinters Nursery last weekend – what a place.  It was a little hard on the pocket-book!  I will take some pictures this weekend of my efforts.

How do your gardens grow?  Have you got a special plant that does really well in our climate – I am always looking for some more ideas!

Happy Viewing

Lynette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, Design - Inspiration, Gardening, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Raining

  1. Anthea says:

    It looks a little like Japonica to me, but I am no expert!

  2. Susan says:

    That plant from your Chase River estuary walk is Lonicera involucrata, commonly called black twinberry or bearberry honeysuckle. Your photo captured it so nicely!

  3. Jan Scanlan Coles says:

    Hey Lynette, the butterflies, I think that monarchs are orange, and swallowtail are yellow. I am not certain though! Beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

