And Now ….. “Back to our Regularly Scheduled Programing”!

My life was interrupted about 2 weeks ago with the announcement that my brother Shane was getting married.

He and his wife Rhonda and their 16-year-old daughter Jazzy had driven out from Manitoba and arrived just a few days before.  They were staying with my father and the visit was going great.  Shane and Rhonda have been together for 32 years.  They met as teenagers and have never been separated since – they were married by time and life.

My brother Maurice decided to come for a visit as well.  He was flying out from Ontario.  He would be arriving in a few days and staying for a week.

Maurice, Shane and my Dad!

Maurice, Shane and my Dad!

I wasn’t there for this; but the discussion was along the lines of “When were we (the siblings) last all together?”  The answer – My wedding – 18 years ago!  Shane started joking around and commenting that maybe they (he and Rhonda) should get married.  Rhonda looked at him and said maybe they should – and she wasn’t joking!

They called me looking for the name of a Justice of the Peace!  What do I know about JP’s?  A lot more now than I did then! LOL!

For the last two weeks I have been wedding planner, photographer and chief cook and bottle washer!  It was all worth it!  The wedding went beautifully; the weather co-operated, all most everyone who was invited made it; and the bridal family was radiant!

So this last Sunday, Aug 17, ten days after the decision was made, Shane and Rhonda were married in my backyard.  Only family was there, about 20 people but it was a wonderful day.

The Wedding Party at Pipers Lagoon.

The Wedding Party at Pipers Lagoon.

Rhiannon – the Stevie Nicks Project

Rhiannon colourway, Royal purple and Denims!

Rhiannon colourway, Royal purple and Denims!

I am waiting for the arrival of the yarn and beads to start this project!  I will be working with Sexy from the Buffalo Wool Co.  The colourway is called Rhiannon.  I love working with this yarn.  I had an idea of the effect I wanted and Ron Miskin dyed it to my specifications.

24K dipped 8/0 beads

24K dipped 8/0 beads

The crystals for the shawl I already had some and then bought more of from Mad About Ewe.  These are 3mm Czech Crystals, about the size of the 8/0, 24K gold dipped Delica’s that are on the way from Fire Mountain Gems!

2 types of Czech Crystals - the black are hema/gold and the others are clear with gold leaf.

2 types of Czech Crystals – the black are hema/gold and the others are clear with gold leaf.

I am so excited – I can hardly wait to start this project!

Colinton Lace

This picture was taken yesterday - I got more edging knit last night!

This picture was taken yesterday – I got more edging knit last night!

This poor shawl still doesn’t have a proper name!  I love the yarn and the look so far – the yarn is really a pleasure to work with.  The simple pattern on the body show cases the hand-dyed yarn and the subtle colourway that the edging is knit with really allows the lace pattern to shine!

Details.

Details.

Pearls Beyond Price

Vintage knitting books!

Vintage knitting books!

Friends who really know what you like are fabulous!  Yesterday I received an absolutely wonderful gift.  It was totally unexpected and I was so totally wowed!

My friend Susan brought me some Vintage knitting books – lovely old pieces with wonderful pictures.  I especially love the “Service” patterns.

I am so stoked!

I am so stoked!

But the Pearl – the best – was the Swedish Mitten Book, Traditional Patterns from Gotland – the Lark edition – Printed in 1984!  Written by Inger and Ingrid Gottfridsson – it is basically a rewrite of a long out of print book from 1925.  History and pictures and stories about the significance of the patterns used on the sample mittens.  Thank-you Susan!

Happy Life

Lynette

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Creation, Design - Execution, Family, Photography, play and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Now ….. “Back to our Regularly Scheduled Programing”!

  1. Sue Kuisma says:

    amazing as usual!

Leave a Reply

