Anticipation

Swan Hollow Studio - silk with filament.  Sheila and Michael Ernst Button and Needles.

Swan Hollow Studio – silk with filament. Sheila and Michael Ernst Button and Needles.

Forbidden Sweater - how could I resist the name of the colour!

Forbidden Sweater – how could I resist the name of the colour!

A box from Buffalo Wool Co arrived yesterday.  This was a special box – well they are all special – but this box held the goodies that I purchased at Stitches South!  It felt like the box took forever!

I love the anticipation of the arrival… the waiting… will the contents be as good as I remember… will the colours as deep or the yarn as soft!  Am I still in love with what I saw and purchased.  The answer is YES!

While I was at Stitches and visiting with Ron and Theresa – I got the chance to pick some colours of Sexy and the Sexy with a Silver Lining – you see I have this idea for a sweater!  The colour is called Forbidden – I do like the name and nothing should be “Forbidden”!  And well, you will have to wait and see what comes out of it!

Baby Makin' Blue - I am makin' a shawl!

Baby Makin’ Blue – I am makin’ a shawl!

I also picked a colour of Sexy for me.  It was love at first sight and has only gotten deeper with the separation – Baby Makin’ Blue.  I see a lace shawl here – one with beads and, and…. you will see!

Now for the Stitches project (no name as yet) – I only bought one yarn, but oh what a yarn.  100% silk, currently undyed, with a thin multi filament spun through the yarn.  This silk comes from Swan Hollow Studio – so many choices!  There is about 1000 yds – enough for a decent size shawl.  This is going to be a painted shawl.  I also purchased a hand crafted glass button from Sheila and Michael Ernst.  This button will be the colour inspiration for the painting of the shawl and the closure for the shawl!  I love multi purpose.

All the colours will be pulled from the button - inspiration in miniature!

All the colours will be pulled from the button – inspiration in miniature!

There is a lot of wait and see here – I will start soon!  Just as soon as I clear a few other things off of the needles – oh and the new needles (also from Sheila and Michael Ernst) should be just the right size for the painted silk shawl!

I collect wooden boxes – I have few (perspective is everything!  LOL!) in the house.  When I saw the Shaker Boxes at Stitches I just fell in love.  The ones I bought were small – the smallest that he makes, but I can add as time goes by!  The top box is only 3 inches wide and 1 inch high.

Only the start of the collection!

Only the start of the collection!

A beautiful profusion of blooms this year.

A beautiful profusion of blooms this year.

Anticipation does not just apply to knitting.  It can also be applied to the garden!  Our garden is a work in progress – when we found Sophie we had to fence the backyard and pulled most of the old plantings out and we have been rebuilding ever since.

We planted a clematis vine two years ago.  A beautiful purple/pink bloom was promised!  The first year – one bloom, the second year – one bloom – but this year 11 blooms and it finally looks like it might stay!  I was sure that it was dead and gone a couple of times!

Are you thinking about the Mystery Class May 28th - here is a little teaser!

Are you thinking about the Mystery Class May 28th – here is a little teaser!

I hope that you have a great long weekend!  Mine will be spent with either camera or knitting needles in hand!

Happy Knitting

Lynette

 

About letissierdesigns

March 2017 - My new site is now up and functioning. I can blog, share my thoughts and photographs, and sell my patterns! So much happening in my life and all is creative and forward moving! Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sept 2015 - I haven't updated this in a while! Still knitting, always knitting, I still teach and work at Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I also have designed for Vogue Knitting, Koigu Magazine, Zealana, Jimmie Beans, and Malabrigo, As of the beginning of 2015 I also became creative director of the Buffalo Wool Co., a new job that just flows along with what I already do. I am a knitting teacher and knitwear designer. I work full time in my LYS, Mad About Ewe Fine Yarns. I recently was 1st runner up in a Vogue Knitting Design Competition called the Magic of Mohair. My design was featured in the Early Fall 2011 Vogue Knitting. I will have another design in the Vogue Knitting Winter 2011 edition. I have recently purchased a Canon Rebel Camera and have started taking way too many pictures. I love this site for sharing my thoughts and pictures. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Design - Inspiration, Gardening, play and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anticipation

  1. What gorgeous, gorgeous yarn and pictures, Lynette. And I could not help but notice those beautiful needle points in your first picture – what a joy to knit with they must be 🙂

Leave a Reply

